Reorganization of States

The States Reorganisation Act, 1956 reformed the boundaries of Indian states and territories, systematizing them on language base. The newly drafted Constitution of India, which came into force on 26 January 1950, distinguished states into four main types. This article briefly shares details on the different types of states as classified in the Constitution of India.

Aspirants would find this article helpful for the IAS Exam.

Reorganization of States – UPSC Notes:- Download PDF Here

States – Classification into 4 Types

UPSC may ask some questions based on states reorganization for IAS Exam as it is important.  History is an unavoidable part of civil services exam and governance as we extract lessons from history. The history not only talks about the freedom struggle, it gives us a gist of the ancient administrative system.

Four main types of states are:

  1. Part A states
  2. Part B states
  3. Part C States
  4. Part D states

Part A States

  1. The former governors’ provinces of British India
  2. These states were ruled by an elected governor and state legislature.
  3. Part A states were Bombay, Madras,  Assam, Bihar,  Madhya Pradesh (earlier Central Provinces and Berar), Punjab (earlier East Punjab), Uttar Pradesh (earlier the United Provinces),  Orissa,  and West Bengal.

Part B States

  1. These were former princely states or groups of princely states
  2. These states were governed by a Rajpramukh
  3. Rajpramukh is the ruler of a constituent state and an elected legislature.
  4. He was appointed by the President of India.
  5. Part B states were Patiala and East Punjab States Union (PEPSU), Hyderabad, Jammu and Kashmir, Travancore-Cochin. Madhya Bharat, Mysore, Rajasthan, and Saurashtra.

Part C States

  1. It comprised both the former chief commissioners’ provinces and some princely states,
  2. These states were governed by a chief commissioner
  3. The chief commissioner was appointed by the President of India.
  4. Part C states were Ajmer, Bhopal, Bilaspur, Coorg, Delhi, Himachal Pradesh, Cutch, Manipur, Tripura, and Vindhya Pradesh.

Part D States

  1. This state was administered a lieutenant governor appointed by the central government.
  2. Part D state consists of Andaman and Nicobar Islands only

Candidates can refer to the Previous Year’s Questions on Constitution of India in UPSC Mains GS 2, from the linked article.

Reorganization of States – UPSC Notes:- Download PDF Here

The above details would help candidates prepare for UPSC 2022.

Related Links

Daily News

Leave a Comment

Your Mobile number and Email id will not be published.