What is the Andhra Pradesh Reorganization Act, 2014?

Andhra Pradesh Reorganisation Act, 2014 is an Act of Indian Parliament that bifurcated the state of Andhra Pradesh into Telangana and the residuary Andhra Pradesh state. The bill was introduced on 5 December 2013, the first day of the winter session in the Legislative Assembly of Andhra Pradesh. The official formation of the 2 separate states was 2nd June 2014. The new state of Telangana was formed with ten districts.

Aspirants would find this topic very helpful for the upcoming IAS exam.

Which was the Appointed Day Mentioned in the Andhra Pradesh Reorganization Act 2014?

The appointed day for the new States formation was 02 June 2014. The bifurcation bill received the President’s assent on 1st March 2014.

How Many Sections are there in the AP Reorganisation Act 2014?

The Andhra Pradesh Reorganization Act 2014 has

  1. 108 sections and
  2. 13 Schedules
  3. 12 Parts

Which Territories are Currently a Part of the Telangana State as Mentioned in the 3rd Section of the AP Reorganization Act?

The territories that are part of Telangana are:

  1. Adilabad
  2. Karimnagar
  3. Medak
  4. Nizamabad
  5. Warangal
  6. Rangareddi
  7. Nalgonda
  8. Mahbubnagar
  9. Khammam (but excluding the revenue villages in the Mandals)
  10. Bhurgampadu
  11. Seetharamanagaram
  12. Kondreka
  13. Hyderabad

As mentioned in the AP Reorganization Act, these territories are not a part of Andhra Pradesh anymore.


The above details would help candidates prepare for UPSC 2020.

Related Links

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *