Who are Persons with Disabilities?

Persons with Disability (PWD) are those who have long-term impairment in terms of physical, mental, sensory and psychological conditions which can stop their equal participation in all aspects of society if met with various barriers.

This is an important topic for all IAS exam aspirants.

What are the different types of disabilities?

The different types of disabilities are given below:

i. autism spectrum disorder;

ii. blindness;

iii. cerebral palsy;

iv. chronic neurological conditions;

v. deafblindness;

vi. hemophilia;

vii. hearing impairment;

viii. intellectual disability;

ix. leprosy cured;

x. locomotor disability;

xi. low vision;

xii. mental illness;

xiii. muscular dystrophy;

xiv. multiple sclerosis;

xv. specific learning disability;

xvi. speech and language disability,

xvii. thalassemia; and

xviii. multiple disabilities.

What are important points under the Rights of Persons with Disabilities Act, 2016?

(1) It is the duty of the involved government to ensure that basic rights like the right to equality, life with dignity and respect for his or her integrity equally with others are enjoyed by the people with disabilities.

(2) To provide appropriate environment for the effective development of the efficiency of the person with disabilities

(3) Discrimination on any grounds of any person with disability shall be met with stringent actions

(4) No person shall be deprived of his or her personal liberty only on the ground of disability.

What is the major agenda of the above act?

The act focuses on the prevention of disabilities, the physical and economic rehabilitation measures for disabled persons. The policy is to be implemented by Government and other agencies. Various steps had also been taken in the past for welfare and rehabilitation of persons with disabilities.

Related Links:

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *