What is the Sub category for OBC?

Other Backward Class (OBC) is a common classification of castes used by the Government of India which are socially or educationally disadvantaged. As per Mandal Commission report of 1980, OBC’s constituted 52% of the country’s population. As per National Sample Survey Organisation (NSSO) 2006 report, the OBC’s comprised 41% of the population. An accurate number would be available after the 2021 census. To make sure that Government benefits reach the deserving category, there are plans on having sub categories within OBC. The reason is currently 97% of government reservation benefits are availed by few of them namely, Yadav, Kurmi, Jats, Saini, Thevar, Ezhava and Vokkaliga castes. 

Aspirants would find this topic very helpful in the IAS Exam.

What is the Measure taken by the President of India to Examine Issues Related to Sub Categorization of OBC?

In 2017 President of India constituted a 5 member commission to explore the concept of sub categorization of OBC. The commission is headed by Former Chief Justice of Delhi, G. Rohini. This commission was appointed by the President by exercising the provisions given in Article 340 of the Indian Constitution.The objective of the commission is given below.

  1. To understand the extent of unfair and unjust distribution of benefits of reservation among different castes and communities in the Central OBC list.
  2. The actual OBC reservation will continue to be 27%, but mechanisms, criteria and parameters will have to laid out for actual sub categorisation of OBC
  3. Bring order to Central list on OBC.

This commission has received a total of 6 extensions since its appointment, the last extension was given in 2019.

Which are the States that have Implemented Sub categorization of OBC at State Level?

11 states/UT have implemented sub categorization of OBC. The list of states are given below.

  1. West Bengal
  2. Tamil Nadu
  3. Andhra Pradesh
  4. Maharashtra
  5. Karnataka
  6. Jharkhand
  7. Bihar
  8. Telangana
  9. Haryana
  10. Puducherry
  11. Jammu and Kashmir

What is a Creamy Layer?

It is referred to the group among backward classes that are not socially and economically disadvantaged, yet they continue to enjoy government benefits resulting in the weakest section of backward classes always remaining backward. 

Multiple Choice Question

Consider the following statements

  1. Creamy layer is a term introduced by the Sattanathan Commission in 1971, which directed that the “creamy layer” should be excluded from the reservations (quotas) of civil posts. It was also identified later by Justice Ram Nandan Committee in 1993. 
  2. India’s National Commission for Backward Classes is a constitutional body (123rd constitutional amendment bill 2017 and 102nd amendment 2018 in the constitution to make it a constitutional body) (Article 338B of the Indian Constitution) under India’s Ministry of Social Justice and Empowerment established on 14 August 1993.
  3. The Mandal Commission, or the Socially and Educationally Backward Classes Commission (SEBC), was established in India on 1 January 1979 by the Janata Party government under Prime Minister Morarji Desai with a mandate to “identify the socially or educationally backward classes” of India
  4. In 1935, Parliament passed the Government of India Act 1935, designed to give Indian provinces greater self-rule and set up a national federal structure. The reservation of seats for the Depressed Classes was incorporated into the act, which came into force in 1937. 

Choose the correct answer from the below-given options

A) None of the above statements are true.

B) None of the above statements are false.

C) Only statements 1, 3, and 4 are false.

D) Only statements 1 and 4 are true.


Answer: B

Relevant Links

The above details would help candidates prepare for UPSC 2021.

Related Links



Leave a Comment

Your Mobile number and Email id will not be published.