All About Technical and Non-Technical Post in UPSC

The IAS prelims 2019 dates has been declared by UPSC recently. The IAS prelims 2019 will hold on 2nd June 2019. The IAS Mains 2019 is scheduled after Prelims result on 20th September 2019. Before appearing for the examination candidate should know about the different post in civil services.

Know more about UPSC Syllabus and IAS Exam

The Civil services IAS is conducted by Union Public Service Commission. The civil services IAS examination rules are notified by Department of Personnel and Training and UPSC spearhead the entire process.  The Civil services IAS exam is conducted in three stages. According to the official notification, it mentions only- Civil Services Preliminary exam and civil services Mains exam. But usually, it is perceived as three stages.

The first stage is preliminary examination a screening test to eliminate the non-serious students. The second stage is IAS Mains exam. This exam decides the rank and your success. The IAS mains exam is a written exam with 9 papers. This contains one optional subject with two papers. The last and final hurdle round is interview/ personality test. If you succeed in this three round, get ready to realize the dream of becoming an IAS officer.

Classification of the services

There is a classification in the civil services post. They are the technical and non-technical post. This is on some criteria adopted by UPSC as well as the concerned authorities.

What is a Technical Service?

The technical services under Indian civil services are those services require special medical status in terms of height, chest expansion, chest, eyesight etc. the technical services under UPSC are as follows:

UPSC Technical Post

Technical Service

The Indian Railway Traffic Service, Group ‘A’.

Indian Police Service, Gr. A,

Railway Protection Force (RPF) Group A,

Pondicherry Police Service, Group ‘B’

Delhi, Andaman and Nicobar Islands, Lakshadweep, Daman & Diu and Dadra & Nagar Haveli Police Service. Group ‘B’.

Indian Ordinance Factories Service (IOFS) Group A.


What is a Non- Technical Service?

The non-technical service never needs special medical status like the non-technical post. The non-technical services listed under civil services are:

Non- Technical Service

The Indian Administrative Service

Indian Foreign Service

Indian Audit and Accounts Service, Group ‘A’

Indian Revenue Service (Customs & Central Excise) Group “A”

Indian Revenue Service, (IT) Group ‘A’

Indian Postal Service, Group ‘A’

Indian Civil Accounts Service, Group ‘A’,

Indian Railway Accounts Service, Group ‘A’

Indian Railway Personnel Service, Group ‘A’

The Indian Defence Estates Service, Group ‘A’

Indian Information Service, Junior Grade Group ‘A’

Indian Corporate Law Service. Group ‘A’,

Delhi, Andaman and Nicobar Islands, Lakshadweep. Daman & Diu and Dadra & Nagar Haveli Civil Service, Group ‘B’

Tune into for more articles and news on UPSC Civil Services IAS Exam.

Also See: