Indira Gandhi Prize

The Indira Gandhi Prize (alternatively known as Indira Gandhi Peace Prize or the Indira Gandhi Prize for Peace, Disarmament and Development) is a prestigious award given by the Indira Gandhi Memorial Trust.

The prize carries a cash award of 2.5 million rupees and a citation.

This article will give details about the Indira Gandhi Prize within the context of the Civil Services Examination.

Overview of Indira Gandhi Prize

The Indira Gandhi Prize is awarded to individuals or organisations to honour their efforts in promoting international peace, development and a new international economic order. Additional endeavors include scientific discoveries used for the benefit of humanity and enlarging the scope of freedom.

In order to be eligible for the award, a written work must be published. The panel constituted by the Indira Gandhi Memorial Trust consists of national and international personalities of note along with previous recipients. The recipients are chosen from a pool of national and international nominees.

Find the list of National Awards Conferred by the government of India by visiting the linked article.

India Gandhi Prize- Download PDF Here

Aspirants can check the latest context related to Indira Gandhi Peace Prize at 13:45 minutes on the given video –

Recipients of Indira Gandhi Prize

The following personalities have received the Indira Gandhi Prize during the ensuing years

Recipients of Indira Gandhi Prize (1986 – 1999)

Year Recipient State/Organisation
1986 Parliamentarians for Global Action
1987 Mikhail Gorbachev Soviet Union
1988 Gro Harlem Brundtland Norway
1989 UNICEF United Nations
1990 Sam Nujoma Namibia
1991 Rajiv Gandhi India
1992 Saburo Okita Japan
1993 Václav Havel Czech Republic
1994 Trevor Huddleston United Kingdom
1995 Olusegun Obasanjo Nigeria
1996 Médecins Sans Frontières France
1997 Jimmy Carter United States
1998 Muhammad Yunus Bangladesh
1999 M S Swaminathan India


Recipients of Indira Gandhi Prize (2000 – 2010)

Year Recipient State/Organisation
2000 Mary Robinson Ireland
2001 Sadako Ogata Japan
2002 Shridath Ramphal Guyana
2003 Kofi Annan Ghana
2004 Maha Chakri Sirindhorn Thailand
2005 Hamid Karzai Afghanistan
2006 Wangari Maathai Kenya
2007 Bill and Melinda Gates Foundation United States
2008 Mohamed ElBaradei Egypt
2009 Sheikh Hasina Bangladesh
2010 Luiz Inácio Lula da Silva Brazil


Recipients of Indira Gandhi Prize (2011 – 2019)

Year Recipient State/Organisation
2011 Ela Bhatt India
2012 Ellen Johnson Sirleaf Liberia
2013 Angela Merkel Germany
2014 Indian Space Research Organisation India
2015 UNHCR (United Nations High Commissioner for Refugees) United Nations
2017 Manmohan Singh India
2018 Centre for Science and Environment India
2019 Sir David Attenborough United Kingdom

Aspirants can find the complete UPSC Syllabus through the linked article. More exam-related preparation materials will be found through the links given below

Related Links

Leave a Comment

Your Mobile number and Email id will not be published.