What is International North-South Transport Corridor (INSTC)?

International North-South  Transport Corridor is a corridor to increase trade between India and Russia. This trade route is 7200 Km long and the transport of freight is through a multi-mode network of  Road, Ship, and Railways. This route connects India and Russia through Iran and Azerbaijan.

Aspirants would find this topic very helpful in the IAS Exam.

What is the objective of the International North-South Transport Corridor (INSTC)?

The earlier trade route connecting India and Russia was through the Suez Canal. Hence the major objective of the INSTC corridor was to reduce the time taken, costs incurred, and increase connectivity between major cities like Mumbai, Moscow, Astrakhan(located in Russia), Baku (Azerbaijan), Tehran, Bandar Abbas and Bandar  Anzail (All located in Iran).

Which are the founding member states of INSTC and when was the agreement signed?

Russia, India, and Iran are the founding member states of INSTC. The agreement was signed in 2002.

Which are the member states of the International North-South Transport Corridor?

There are 13 member states of the INSTC project. The list of member states is given below.

  1. India
  2. Iran
  3. Russia
  4. Azerbaijan
  5. Armenia
  6. Kazakhstan
  7. Belarus
  8. Tajikistan
  9. Kyrgystan
  10. Oman
  11. Turkey
  12. Syria
  13. Ukraine.

Bulgaria is the Observer State.

The above details would help candidates preparing for UPSC 2020.

Related Links


Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *