UPSC Exam Preparation Topic of the Day – PCA Act

Topic: Prevention of Cruelty to Animals Act (PCA Act)
Category: Governance Related - Social Issues

Prevention of Cruelty to Animals Act

  • The Prevention of Cruelty to Animals Act is an Act of the Parliament of India enacted in 1960 to prevent the infliction of unnecessary pain or suffering on animals and to amend the laws relating to the prevention of cruelty to animals.
  • As per the provisions of the law the government of India formed the Animal Welfare Board of India.

What are the activities that would amount to cruelty to animals under the Act?

According to Section 11 of the PCA, the following instances would amount to animal treatment:

  1. Willful and unreasonable administration of injurious drugs or substances to any animal.
  2. Confining of any animal in a cage that measures insufficiently in height, length and breadth such that the confined animal is not able to move reasonably.
  3. The owner of an animal not providing it with enough food, drink or shelter.
  4. Inciting an animal to fight just for the purpose of entertainment.

Animal Welfare Board of India

  • The Animal Welfare Board of India is a statutory advisory body on Animal Welfare Laws and promotes the welfare of animals in the country.
  • Established in 1962 under Section 4 of the Prevention of Cruelty to Animals Act, 1960 (No. 59 of 1960), the Animal Welfare Board of India was started under the stewardship of Late Smt. Rukmini Devi Arundale, well known humanitarian.
  • The board ensures that animal welfare laws are followed in the country; it also offers grants to other animal welfare organizations; and advices the GOI on issues of animal welfare.
  • The Board consists of 28 Members. The term of office of Members is for a period of 3 years.
  • For over 50 years, the Animal Welfare Board had been active in this field.

No-Detention Policy

  • Section 16 of the Right of Children to Free and Compulsory Education (RTE) Act, 2009 stipulates that ‘No child admitted in a school shall be held back in any class or expelled from school till the completion of elementary education’.
  • Thus, the policy covers elementary stage of schooling covering classes 1 to 8.