What is Global Initiative to Combat Nuclear Terrorism (GICNT)?

Global Initiative to Combat Nuclear Terrorism is an international co-operation to prevent the proliferation of nuclear weapons or radioactive materials into the hands of terrorists, and to prevent the terrorists from carrying out attacks on any of the nuclear facilities. It is a co-operation to prevent, detect and respond to nuclear terrorism.

Aspirants would find this topic very helpful in the IAS Exam.

Which are the 6 Official Observers of GICNT?

GICNT has 89 nations as its members. There are 6 organizations which act as observers of GICNT. The list is given below.

  1. United Nations Office of Counter Terrorism (UNOCT).
  2. International Atomic Energy Agency (IAEA)
  3. International Criminal Police Organisation (Interpol)
  4. United Nations Office on Drugs and Crime (UNODC)
  5. United Nations Inter-regional Crime and Justice Research Institute (UNICRI)
  6. European Union (E.U.)

Where was the Location of the First GICNT Summit?

The First GICNT Summit was held in Rabat, Morocco in the year 2006. 13 nations are founding members of GICNT. The establishment of GICNT was jointly announced by former US President George Bush and Russian President Vladimir Putin in the year 2006. India is also a member of the GICNT.

Where was the GICNT Summit held in 2019?

The last GICNT Summit was held in Buenos Aires, Argentina on June 5-7, 2019. Russia and the USA will be the co-chair for the next four years from 2019-2023. Morocco will be the Implementation and Assessment Group (IAG) co-coordinator for the year 2019-2021. The next GICNT summit will be held in Hungary in the year 2021.


The above details would help candidates prepare for UPSC 2020.

Related Links


Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *