Law Commission

Concept:  Law Commission
Topic: Polity
Category: Liberty
Related News: Hindu, May 26
CNA mentions: 1 (May 26)

Commissions and committees are an important feature of Indian polity and hence, they assume a lot of importance for the UPSC exam. In this article, you can read about the Law Commission of India and its mandate, functions, chief, etc. for the IAS exam.

The Law Commission of India is an executive body formed by a GOI order. Its chief mandate is to bring about reforms in the legal domain in the country. The commission is chiefly composed of legal experts. The Law Commission is formed for a fixed term. It functions as an advisory body to the Law and Justice Ministry. The first ever Law Commission was created in 1834 via the 1833 Charter Act. There were three more law commissions during the British Raj before independence. Currently, the 21st Law Commission is in function and its tenure is from 2015 to 2018. Balbir Singh Chauhan, judge of the Supreme Court is the current chairman of the Law Commission. At present, one major concern before the commission is the amendment of the Indian Penal Code or the IPC.

The Law Commission of India is a non-statutory body constituted by the Government of India. The first such Commission set up in 1834 under the Charter Act of 1833.It was set up under the Chairmanship of Lord Macaulay which suggested codification of the Penal Code and the Criminal Procedure Code. The Indian Contract Act, The Indian Code of Civil Procedure the Indian Evidence Act, the Transfer of Property Act. etc. are the outcomes of the first four Law Commissions.

The Government of India established the First Law Commission of Independent India in 1955 and is reconstituted every three years. The tenure of the 20th Law Commission was up to 31st August, 2015. So far, the Law Commissions have contributed towards the dynamic advancement and codification of the laws of the nation. The Union has given its underwriting on the Constitution of the 21st Law Commission of India, for a time of three years with impact from first September 2015 to 31st August, 2018.

Consider the following statements:

  1. The Government of India established the First Law Commission of Independent India in 1955.
  2. The Law Commission is reconstituted every three years.

Which of the following statements is/are correct?

  1. Only 1
  2. Only 2
  3. Both 1 and 2
  4. Neither 1 nor 2

Answer: c