List of Indian State Animals 2023 [Updated]

India is a country rich in biodiversity and various animal species are found across the Indian states and union territories. In this article, we shall discuss the list of animals that are the symbols for the 28 states and 8 Union Territories. 

This is important from the perspective of the prelims phase of the IAS Exam. Candidates preparing for the upcoming civil services exam or other government exams must update themselves with the list of Indian state animals. 

Also, visit the linked article and get updated with the List of Indian state birds

Latest Update: 

  • The Union Territory of Ladakh has declared Snow Leopard as its state animal. Snow Leopard is found in Ruspshu and Nubra valleys as well Changspa region of Leh district and Zagla in Zanskar in Kargil region.  
  • With the death of the sole female Buffalo in the government conservation centre of Chhattisgarh, the state animal of Chhattisgarh is on the verge of extinction. The Sitanadi-Udanti tiger reserve in the state is one of the habitats of the species

Also, read about the Species in News important for UPSC Prelims 2023. 

List of Indian State Animals [UPSC Notes]:-Download PDF Here

Kickstart your preparation for the upcoming IAS Exam and complement it with the links given below:

State-wise List of Animals in India

India is a biodiverse country and contains various kinds of species. The list below shows India’s State animals:

S.No. States Animal
1 Andhra Pradesh Blackbuck
2 Arunachal Pradesh Mithun
3 Assam Indian One-horned Rhino
4 Bihar Gaur
5 Chhattisgarh Wild Buffalo
6 Goa Gaur
7 Gujarat Asiatic Lion
8 Haryana Blackbuck
9 Himachal Pradesh Snow Leopard
10 Jharkhand Elephant
11 Karnataka Elephant
12 Kerala Elephant
13 Madhya Pradesh Swamp Deer (Barasingha)
14 Maharashtra Giant Squirrel
15 Manipur Sangai
16 Meghalaya Clouded Leopard
17 Mizoram Serow
18 Nagaland Mithun
19 Odisha Sambhar deer
20 Punjab Blackbuck
21 Rajasthan Chinkara
22 Sikkim Red Panda
23 Tamil Nadu Nilgiri Tahr
24 Telangana Spotted Deer (Jinka)
25 Tripura Phayre’sLangur
26 Uttarakhand Musk Deer
27 Uttar Pradesh Swamp Deer (Barasingha)
28 West Bengal Fishing cat
S.No. Union Territories Animal
1 Andaman & Nicobar Islands Dugong
2 Chandigarh Indian grey Mongoose
3 Dadra & Nagar Haveli and Daman & Diu
4 Lakshadweep Butterfly Fish
5 Puducherry Squirrel
6 Ladakh Snow Leopard
7 Jammu and Kashmir Kashmir stag
8 The Government of NCT of Delhi Nilgai

Aspirants can also refer to the following links:

Candidates preparing for government exams can also get the list of important Static GK topics at the linked article. 

List of Indian State Animals [UPSC Notes]:-Download PDF Here

For more information regarding the upcoming civil services exam, study material and preparation, candidates can visit BYJU’S.

Frequently Asked Questions on Indian State Animals


Q 1. What is the state animal of the national capital of India?

Ans. The state animal of Delhi is Nilgai.

Q 2. Which is the national animal of Ladakh?

Ans. On September 1, 2021, Snow Leopard was declared as the national animal of the Union Territory of Ladakh.

Q 3. Which three Indian states have elephants as their State animal?

Ans. Jharkhand, Karnataka and Kerala are the three states whose State animal is the Elephant.

Q 4. Indian grey Mongoose is the state animal of which Indian state or union territory?

Ans. Indian Grey Mongoose is the state animal of Chandigarh.

Q 5. Swamp Deer or Barasingha is the state animal of which state(s)?

Ans. Swamp Deer is the state animal of both Uttar Pradesh and Madhya Pradesh.
Other Related Links
UPSC Syllabus IAS Hindi
National Song of India National Aquatic Animal of India
National Calendar of India National River of India 

Daily News


Leave a Comment

Your Mobile number and Email id will not be published.