What is the Health Protection Scheme?

The health protection scheme is also known as the Ayushman Bharat is aimed at providing health coverage up to 5 lakhs per family per year for secondary and tertiary hospitalization.

This scheme is portable across the country and beneficiaries can avail cashless benefits from any private/government hospitals in the country.

This topic is relevant for IAS exam aspirants.

To complement your preparation for the upcoming exam, check the following links:

Who can take the Ayushman Bharat scheme?

The scheme is targeted at poor, deprived rural families and identified occupational category of urban workers’ families.

The beneficiaries will be decided as per the eligibility criteria defined by the Socio-Economic Caste Census (SECC) database.

The beneficiaries are identified based on the deprivation categories (D1, D2, D3, D4, D5, and D7). This is for the categorization under the SECC database for rural areas.

Read in detail about Ayushman Bharat Programme on the given link.

National Health Mission National Health Assurance Mission (NHAM) National Ayush Mission
Affordable Healthcare- RSTV National Rural Health Mission (NRHM) National Urban Health Mission (NUHM) 

What are the features of National Health Mission?

The salient features of the National Health Mission are stated below:

  1. This scheme has a healthcare coverage of 5 lakh per year per family.
  2. The beneficiaries can avail the benefits in both the public and private facilities.
  3. The payment for health treatment will be done based on package rate and it will be decided by the government.
  4. States would need to have the State Health Agency (SHA) to implement the scheme.

What is the targeted number of beneficiaries of the Ayushman Bharat scheme?

Ayushman Bharat aims to provide essential healthcare facilities to over 10 crore families covering urban and rural poor.

Related Links:

UPSC 2023 Calendar UPSC Books
UPSC Syllabus UPSC Notes
NCERT Notes For UPSC UPSC Prelims
UPSC 2023 UPSC Current Affairs
List of government schemes Pradhan Mantri Suraksha Bima Yojana (PMBSY)
NITI Aayog

Daily News


Leave a Comment

Your Mobile number and Email id will not be published.