Pradhan Mantri Kaushal Vikas Yojana (PMKVY)

The Ministry of Skill Development and Entrepreneurship launched the Pradhan Mantri Kaushal Vikas Yojana (PMKVY) in 2015 administered by the National Skill Development Corporation (NSDC). The Government of India aims to provide the country’s youth with training that will help them achieve meaningful, industry-relevant skills. Government welfare schemes are a significant part of the Social Justice and Indian Polity segments of the UPSC Syllabus for General Studies paper 2.

The topic discussed in this article is important for IAS Exam and other Government Exams. Students preparing for these exams should be aware of the different government schemes for social welfare and development.

The PIB Summary and Analysis page will give you the latest information about government reforms, initiatives, and announcements!!

The following links will further help their candidates in their exam preparation:

Pradhan Mantri Kaushal Vikas Yojana (PMKVY) Objective


PMKVY is a Skill Certification Scheme that aims to encourage the youth population of the country to take up training which is Industry- Relevant and builds them in Skill Development. The scheme was launched with an intention to provide secure livelihoods for the individuals participating in the training. PMKVY will also certify the previous learning experiences or skills of the individuals under the Recognition of Prior Learning (RPL).

Components of PMKVY

Pradhan Mantri Kaushal Vikas Yojana has four key components as follows:

Component Description
Short Term Training

●      The National Skills Qualifications Framework (NSQF) and different training centres will provide skill development training to the unemployed and school/college dropouts.

●      They’ll also grant Soft Skill training, Digital & Financial Literacy sessions, Entrepreneurship, etc. depending upon the requirements of the industry.

●      The training provided will be NSQF Level 5 and below.

Recognition of Prior Learning (RPL) ●      Individuals having prior learning experiences/skills are certified and assessed under the Recognition of Prior Learning (RPL).

●      RPL is a process of assessment of an individual’s prior learning, skills, and experience.

Special Projects ●      This component of PMKVY aims to encourage training in the groups of society that are marginalized and vulnerable.

●      These Special projects can be defined as projects that have some deviation in the Terms and Conditions from the Short Term Training projects.

Kaushal and Rozgar Mela ●      They are events organized every six months in order to provide assistance for individuals who have taken PMKVY training and have been certified.
Placement and Monitoring Guidelines ●      Creating and Providing placement opportunities to trained and certified individuals.

●      Maintaining high-quality training standards through the Skills Development Management System (SDMS).

Training Partners (TPs)

●      Placement assistance

●      Training to NSQF level 5 and below

●      Providing support to entrepreneurship development.

Current Updates on PMKVY

The Ministry of Skill Development and Entrepreneurship (MSDE) has launched Pradhan Mantri Kaushal Vikas Yojana (PMKVY) 3.0, in a bid to empower India’s youth with employable skills by making over 300 skill courses available to them.

PMKVY 3.0 phase will focus on new-age and COVID-related skills and envisages training of 8 lakh candidates over a scheme period of 2020-2021. Details regarding National Skill Development Mission are available on the linked page.

To build a robust pool of skilled professionals, 729 Pradhan Mantri Kaushal Kendras (PMKKs), empaneled non-PMKK training centers and more than 200 ITIs under Skill India will be rolling out PMKVY 3.0 training. Know more about the Skill India Mission on the linked page.

The Ministry has improved the newer version of the scheme on the basis of the learning gained from PMKVY 1.0 and PMKVY 2.0 so as to match the current policy doctrine and energize the skilling ecosystem affected due to the COVID-19 pandemic.

PMKVY Implementation

PMKVY is administered and implemented by the National Skill Development Corporation (NSDC) under the Ministry of Skill Development and Entrepreneurship.

  • Along with this, the training providers affiliated with the State or Central government will also provide training under the PMKVY scheme.
  • The training providers have to register themselves on the Skill Management & Accreditation of Training Centre (SMART) portal to participate and provide training under the scheme.
  • PMKVY training is scrutinized by the Sector Skills Councils and State Governments.

Recognition of Prior Learning (RPL) 

Recognition of Prior Learning commonly known as RPL largely refers to an assessment process used to evaluate a person’s existing skill sets, knowledge and experience gained either by formal, non-formal or informal learning. RPL under Pradhan Mantri Kaushal Vikas Yojana (PMKVY) 2016-20 primarily has threefold objectives.

  1. Enhance Employability
  2. Reducing inequalities
  3. To align the competencies of the un-regulated workforce.

RPL – 5 step process

It is a 5 step process which are given-below

  1. Mobilization 
  2. Counselling and Pre-Screening
  3. Orientation
  4. Final Assessment
  5. Certification, mark sheet and pay-out distribution to candidates

Relevant Links

UPSC Mains General Studies Paper-II Strategy, Syllabus & Structure Topic-Wise General Studies Paper – 2 Questions for UPSC Mains
Social Justice Questions in UPSC Mains General Studies Paper – 2 Indian Society Old Questions in UPSC Mains General Studies Paper – 1
100 Difference between Articles Topic-Wise General Studies Paper – 1 Questions in UPSC Mains
UPSC Mains General Studies Paper 1 Syllabus, Strategy & Structure Government Schemes in India

Pradhan Mantri Kaushal Vikas Yojana (PMKVY):- Download PDF Here

Related Links:

UPSC Notes for Mains Exam National Skills Qualifications Framework
UPSC Current Affairs Make in India



Leave a Comment

Your Mobile number and Email id will not be published.