Littoral and Swamp Forests - Definition, Characteristics and Classification [UPSC Notes]

Littoral forests and Swamp forests are also called the wetland forests. India has a rich variety of these types of forests. They are mainly found in reservoirs of Deccan Plateau, saline coast of Gujarat, Rajasthan, and Gulf of Kutch, Eastern Coast Deltas, lakes and Rivers of Kashmir and Ladakh, Swamps in North East India. They are part of natural vegetation in India

Morava's flooded forest

For the IAS Exam (Prelims and GS-I), candidates can read about other kinds of forests from the links mentioned in the table below:

Classification of Littoral Forests:

The Littoral forests can be classified into the following types:

  1. Beach forests: In the Beach forests, the rainfall varies from 75 cm to 500 cm depending upon the area. The temperature in these forests is moderate. The common plants found in these forests are Manilkara Littoralis, Thespesia, Spinifex Littoreus, Casuarina Equisetifolia, Pandanus, Borassus, Cocos Nucifera, Phoenix, Callophyllum Littoralis, Barringtonia, Pongamia. A number of twiners and climbers are also found in these forests.
  1. Tidal forests: The Tidal forests are also popularly known as the or Mangrove forests. Mangrove forests grow along the coast in the salt marshes, tidal creeks, and estuaries. It is home to a large variety of birds. The  Tidal forests are further broadly classified into the following four types:

(i) Tree mangrove forests

(ii) Low mangrove forests

(iii) Saltwater forests and

(iv) Brackish water forests.

  1. Freshwater swamp forests:  Important plants found here are Salix Tetrasperma, Acer, Putranjiva, Holoptelia, Cephalanthus, Barringtonia, Olea, Phoebe, Ficus, Murraya, Adhatoda, Canna and a variety of grasses.

Littoral Forests in India – UPSC Notes:- Download PDF Here

The topic, ‘Littoral & Swamp Forests’ is important from GS 1 syllabus perspective. Aspirants can get Mains GS 1 structure, strategy and syllabus in the linked article.

Related Links:

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *