Jnanpith Award

Jnanpith Award is a literary award presented by the Bharatiya Jnanpith organization to Indian writers every year. This was instituted in 1961 and is given only to Indian writers who write in Indian languages and English. The first recipient of the award was Malayalam writer G Sankara Kurup in 1965 for his novel ‘Odakkuzhal’ (The Bamboo Flute).

The winner is given a cash prize of Rs. 11 lakh (as of 2015) and a bronze replica of Goddess Saraswati, the Hindu goddess of learning. The latest winner (2017) is Krishna Sobti, Hindi writer. The first woman writer to be awarded this award was Ashapoorna Devi, a Bengali writer, in 1976. The organization which presents this award was founded in 1944 by industrialist and philanthropist Sahu Shanti Prasad Jain.

Also see: