Economic Community Of West African States

The Economic Community Of West African States (ECOWAS) is a regional group of fifteen countries, founded in 1975. Its mission is to promote economic integration in “all fields ofeconomic activity, particularly industry, transport, telecommunications, energy, agriculture, natural resources, commerce, monetary and financial questions, social and cultural matters . The Institutions of the Economic Community Of West African States (ECOWAS) are as follows: • The Authority of Heads of States and Government • The Council of Ministers • The Community Parliament • The Economic and Social Council • The Community Court OF Justice • The Executive Secretariat ECOWAS Bank for Investment and Development (EBID) The ECOWAS Secretariat and the Fund for Cooperation, Compensation and Development, more often called The Fund are its two main institutions designed to implement policies, pursue a number of programmes and carry out development projects in Member States. Such projects include intra-community road construction and telecommunications; and agricultural, energy and water resources development.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *