Economic Commission For Western ASIA (ECWA)

The Economic Commission for Western Asia (ECWA) was established on 9 August 1973 pursuant to Economic and Social Council’s resolution 1818 (LV) with an aim to stimulate economic activity in member countries, strengthen cooperation between them and to promote the development. 

In this article, we shall discuss in detail the objectives, background and members of the Economic Commission for Western Asia (ECWA). IAS Exam aspirants must prepare this topic for the upcoming civil services examination. 

Aspirants can also check the List of International Organisations and their Headquarters at the linked article. 

About Economic Commission for Western Asia (ECWA)

  • ECWA provides a framework for the formulation and harmonization of sectoral policies for member countries
  • It is a part of the Secretariat of the United Nations and is one of the five regional commissions which report to the Economic and Social Council, the principal organ of the United Nations responsible for coordinating economic and social activities in the United Nations system
  • In 1985, the Commission was redesignated the Economic and Social Commission for Western Asia (ESCWA), in accordance with Economic and Social Council resolution 1985/69 of 26 July 1985, in order to acknowledge more fully the social aspect of the Commission’s activities
  • It has been located in a number of Arab capitals. It started in Beirut (1974- 1982), moved to Baghdad (1982- 1991), then to Amman (1991- 1997), and returned to Beirut in 1997, its permanent headquarters
  • The other regional commissions are: 
    • Economic Commission for Europe (ECE)
    • Economic and Social Commission for Asia and the Pacific (ESCAP)
    • Economic Commission for Latin America and the Caribbean (ECLAC)
    • Economic Commission for Africa (ECA)
  • The administrative budget of ESCWA is funded from the financial resources of the United Nations, the major portion of which comes from the contributions of member States
  • ESCWA receives additional financial resources from outside the regular budget, which are used to implement specific projects in accordance with agreements reached with governmental and non-governmental donors

Objectives of Economic Commission For Western Asia

Discussed below are the objectives of the Economic Commission for Western Asia:

  • Economic and Social Development of the countries which are a member of ECWA 
  • Promote the sense of cooperation between the member countries
  • To achieve regional integration and ensure interaction between Western Asia and other regions
  • It also aims at spreading awareness about the present circumstances of the member countries and help them fulfil their needs

Aspirants can also know more about the Economic And Social Commission For Asia and Pacific (ESCAP) at the linked article. 

Members of ECWA

Given below is a list of ECWA member countries as in July 2020:

Algeria Bahrain Egypt Iraq
Jordan Kuwait Lebanon Libya
Mauritania Morocco Oman State of Palestine
Qatar Saudi Arabia Sudan Somalia
Syrian Arab Republic Tunisia United Arab Emirates Yemen

Candidates can also get the detailed and comprehensive UPSC Syllabus for the prelims and mains examination at the linked article, and they can start their preparation accordingly. 

For any further information, latest exam updates, study material or preparation tips, candidates can turn to BYJU’S for expert assistance. 

Leave a Comment

Your Mobile number and Email id will not be published. Required fields are marked *