How Many National Disaster Response Force (NDRF) are there in India?

Currently, NDRF is made up of 12 Battalions. Each Battalion consists of 1149 personnel.  Of these, three each from the BSF and CRPF and two each from CISF, ITBP and SSB. NDRF was constituted as per Section 44-45, of Disaster Management Act, 2005. This Bill was passed in Parliament in the year 2005. President of India gave his assent to the Bill in 2006. 

Aspirants would find this topic very helpful in the IAS Exam.

NDRF BNS with their Area of Responsibility

01 Bn, Guwahati Assam (24 districts), Meghalaya, Mizoram, Tripura
02 Bn, Haringhata Sikkim, West Bengal
03 Bn, Mundali Odisha, Chhattisgarh
04 Bn, Arakkonam Andaman & Nicobar Islands, Kerala, Puducherry, Lakshadweep, Tamil Nadu
05 Bn, Pune Maharashtra, Goa
06 Bn, Vadodara Gujarat, Rajasthan, Daman Diu, Dadra & Nagar Haveli
07 Bn, Bhatinda Chandigarh, Himachal Pradesh, Punjab, J&K
08 Bn, Ghaziabad Delhi, Haryana, Uttarakhand, Uttar Pradesh (02 districts)
09 Bn, Patna Bihar, Jharkhand
10 Bn, Vijayawada Andhra Pradesh, Telangana, Karnataka
11 Bn, Varanasi Madhya Pradesh, Uttar Pradesh (73 districts)
12 Bn, Doimukh Assam (09 districts), Arunachal Pradesh, Manipur, Nagaland
Kickstart your UPSC preparation now and complement it with the links given below:

What is the National Disaster Response Force (NDRF)?

After a series of natural calamities including, the Orissa Super Cyclone (1999), Gujarat Earthquake (2001) and Indian Ocean Tsunami (2004), among many others, the concerned authorities took necessary steps towards designing a systematic disaster management plan. This led to the enactment of the Disaster Management Act on December 26, 2005.

The Disaster Management Act has statutory provisions for the constitution of the National Disaster Response Force (NDRF) for the purpose of specialized response to natural and man-made disasters. The practice of “proactive availability” of this Force to the States and that of “pre-positioning”, in a threatening disaster situations have immensely helped minimise damage, caused due to natural calamities in the country.

For more information about Disaster Management in India, aspirants can visit the linked article.

What is the role of NDRF in Natural Disasters?

NDRF carries out rescue and relief operations during natural disasters. Till date, NDRF has carried out 73 operations in the country and saved approximately 1.3 Lakh human lives. In addition, NDRF has the capability to respond to nuclear, biological and chemical disasters.

Who is the Chairman of NDRF?

Head of NDRF is designated as Director General (DG). Usually, an IPS Officer is the head of NDRF. The apex body of disaster management is the National Disaster Management Authority (NDMA). NDRF functions under NDMA. Chairman of NDMA is the Prime Minister.

Can a Civilian join NDRF?

No, civilians do not have direct entry into NDRF.  NDRF consists of personnel on deputation from Central Reserve Police Force (CRPF), Indo-Tibetan Border Police (ITBP), Border Security Force (BSF), Central Industrial Security Force (CISF), and  Sashastra Seema Bal (SSB).

International Operations Performed by NDRF

  1. Nepal Earthquake – April 2015
  2. Japan Tsunami – March 2011

Under which ministry, NDRF is functioning?

Ministry of Home Affairs, Government of India.

National Disaster Response Force (NDRF) – UPSC Notes-Download PDF Here

All UPSC aspirants can get the detailed and comprehensive IAS Syllabus for the upcoming Civil Services Exam at the linked article.

Visit BYJU’S for the latest exam updates, study material and preparation tips.

Related Links

IAS Salary Highlights of the National Disaster Management Plan
National Disaster Management Authority Crowd Disaster Management
Cyclones Earthquake
Cyclone Disaster Management Tsunami
Bomb Cyclones Previous Years Questions of Disaster Management in UPSC Mains GS 3
UPSC Mains GS 3 Strategy, Syllabus and Structure Topic-Wise GS 3 Questions

UPSC 2022


Leave a Comment

Your Mobile number and Email id will not be published.