UPSC Prelims Exam: Railway Zones and Headquarters in India

UPSC Prelims 2023 is scheduled on 28th May 2023 (Sunday). UPSC Civil Services Exam is conducted in three stages-prelims, mains and interview. The Preliminary Examination is a screening test where candidates face objective-type questions.

As per the latest pattern of the UPSC IAS exam, one has to tackle the factual as well as conceptual questions, candidates need to adopt the right strategy rather than just cramming the facts.

UPSC 2023

Transportation is an important portion in Indian geography. In India, there are three kinds of transportation. Indian railways framework is the biggest in Asia and the fourth biggest in the World. It is the largest departmental Public undertaking in India. The Indian Railways celebrated its 150th anniversary in 2003. The headquarters of Indian Railway is situated in New Delhi.

The Indian transportation system is very important in IAS Exam. Here we are giving some interesting details about the Indian Railways.

Visit the Current Affairs page to stay updated about the latest events of international and national importance!!

The following links will further help their candidates in their exam preparation:

Railway Zones and Headquarters

Indian railways network is divided into 16 zones. Zones are divided into divisions. There are 69 divisions altogether. Each zone has their own headquarters.

Indian Railway Headquarters List

Railway Zone Division Zonal Headquarters
Central Railway
  • Mumbai
  • Nagpur
  • Bhusawal
  • Pune
  • Sholapur
Eastern Railway
  • Howrah-I
  • Howrah-II
  • Sealdah
  • Malda
  • Asansol
  • Chittaranjan
  • Kolkata Metro
East Central Railway
  • Danapur
  • Mugalsarai
  • Dhanbad
  • Sonpur
  • Samastipur
East Coast Railway
  • Khurda Road
  • Waltair
  • Sambalpur
Northern Railway
  • Delhi-I
  • Delhi-II
  • Ambala
  • Moradabad
  • Lucknow
  • Firozpur
Baroda House, New Delhi
North Central  Railway
  • Allahabad
  • Jhansi
  • Agra
North Eastern  Railway
  • Izzatnagar
  • Lucknow
  • Varanasi
  • DLW
North Frontier  Railway
  • Katihar
  • Alipurduar
  • Rangiya
  • Lumding
  • Tinsukia
Maligaon, Guwahati
North Western Railway
  • Jaipur
  • Jodhpur
  • Bikaner
  • Ajmer
Southern  Railway
  • Chennai
  • Madurai
  • Palghat
  • Trichy
  • Trivandrum
South Central Railway
  • Secunderabad
  • Hyderabad
  • Guntakal
  • Vijayawada
  • Nanded
South Eastern Railway
  • Kharagpur
  • Adra
  • Chakradharpur
  • Ranchi
  • Shalimar
Garden Reach, Kolkata
South East Central  Railway
  • Bilaspur
  • Nagpur
  • Raipur
South Western Railway
  • Bangalore
  • Mysore
  • Hubli
Western Railway
  • BCT
  • Vadodara
  • Ahmedabad
  • Ratlam
  • Rajkot
  • Bhavnagar
Mumbai CST
West Central Railway
  • Jabalpur
  • Bhopal
  • Kota

Aspirants preparing for upcoming UPSC Civil services examinations can go through the following to prepare comprehensively for the exam –

Indian Railways: Establishment and Brief Facts Operation Meri Saheli – An Indian Railways Initiative Changing Indian Railways: RSTV – Big Picture
New Metro Rail Policy Mumbai to Ahmedabad High-Speed Rail (MAHSR) Setu Bharatam Project
Major National Highways in India Hydroelectric Power Plants in India National Waterways in India

Relevant Links


Leave a Comment

Your Mobile number and Email id will not be published.