Missiles Of India - List Of Types Of Missiles In India

The syllabus of UPSC Prelims examination is vast and diverse. The syllabus of UPSC Prelims exam for general subjects like History, Geography, Economics, Polity, General sciences and CSAT (aptitude) is well defined. The Current affairs segment which is undefined and dynamic is emerging as an inevitable part of UPSC exam. In this context, candidates have to concentrate on both traditional and current affairs areas.l

Defence is an important and dynamic segment in UPSC Syllabus. The commission has asked several questions related to the missile launch, its type, etc. According to the recent trends, UPSC tends to ask factual question than conceptual ones. This has put the candidates into a great pressure as they cannot predict the pattern of questions. To tackle the factual questions, it is essential to know about several facts and figures. The defence is an important area in UPSC mains and Prelims examination.

To know more about other Government exams, refer to the linked article.

List of Indian Missiles:- Download PDF Here

Category of Important Indian Missiles:

  • Surface-To-Air Missiles
  • Air-to-air missiles
  • Surface-to-surface missiles
  • Defence Missile
  • Cruise Missiles
  • Submarine Launched Ballistic Missiles
  • Anti-Tank Missile

Recently India has launched several missiles which are considered as the landmark of achievement of the nation.

The list of important Indian Missiles is given below:


Air-to-air missiles

Name of the Missile Type of Missile Operational Range Speed
MICA Air-to-Air Missiles 500 m to 80 km Mach 4
Astra Missile Air-to-Air Missiles 80-110 km Mach 4.5 +
Novator K-100 Medium Range air-to-air missile 300–400 km Mach 3.3

Surface-To-Air Missiles

Trishul Short-Range surface to air missile 9 km
Akash Missile Medium-range surface-to-air missile 30-35km Mach 2.5 to 3.5
Barak 8 Long-Range surface to air Missile 100 km Mach 2
Surface-to-surface Missiles Agni-I Medium-range ballistic missile 700-1250 km Mach 7.5
Agni-II Intermediate-range ballistic missile 2,000–3,000 km Mach 12
Agni-III Intermediate-range ballistic missile 3,500 km – 5,000 km 5–6 km/s
Agni-IV Intermediate-range ballistic missile 3,000 – 4,000 km Mach 7
Agni-V Intercontinental ballistic missile 5000 – 8000 Km Mach 24
Prithvi I Short-Range Ballistic Missile 150 km
Prithvi II Short-Range Ballistic Missile 350 km
Dhanush Short-Range Ballistic Missile 350 – 600 km
Shaurya Medium-Range Ballistic Missile 750 to 1,900 km
Prahaar Short-Range Ballistic Missile 150 km
Cruise Missiles BrahMos Supersonic cruise missile 290 km Mach 2.8 to 3 Mach
BrahMos II Hypersonic cruise missile 300km Mach 7
Nirbhay Subsonic cruise missile 1,000 -1500 km Mach 0.8
Defence Missile Prithvi Air Defence Exo-atmospheric Anti-ballistic missile Altitude- 80km Mach 5+
Prithvi Defence Vehicle Exo-atmospheric Anti-ballistic missile Altitude- 30km Mach 4.5
Advanced Air Defence Endoatmospheric Anti-ballistic missile Altitude- 120km

Submarine Launched Ballistic Missiles

Ashwin Ballistic Missile 150-200km Mach 4.5
Sagarika Ballistic Missile 700 – 1900 Km
K-4 Ballistic Missile 3,500–5,000 km
K-5 Ballistic Missile 6,000 km

Anti-Tank Missile

Amogha Anti-Tank Guided Missile 2.8 km
Nag Anti-Tank Guided Missile 4km 230 m/s
Helina Anti-Tank Guided Missile 7-8km

List of Indian Missiles:- Download PDF Here

List of Missiles of India is an important static GK topic. For information on various static GK topics check the article linked here.

Important facts- Missiles in India

  1. The Integrated Guided Missile Development Program (IGMDP) was launched in 1983.
  2. This program was launched with an agenda to develop five missile systems in the country – Trishul, Akash, Nag, Prithvi, and Agni-I.
  3. These above missiles are of the intermediate-range surface-to-surface missile.
  4. Tessy Thomas who is an Indian scientist and Director General of Aeronautical Systems and the former Project Director for Agni-IV missile in Defence Research and Development Organisation(DRDO) is known as the ‘Missile Woman’ of India.
  5. Prithvi was the first Indian single staged liquid-fuelled surface-to-surface Missile.

Related Links:

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *