List of Total Number of High Courts in India

The High Court is the supreme judicial body in a state. According to Article 214, each state of India shall have a High Court. However, Article 231 also mentions that there can be a common High Court for two or more States or for two or more states and a union territory. The UPSC Exam aspirants should know the number of High Courts in India.

There are 25 High Courts in India, six having control over more than one State/UT. Delhi has a High Court of its own among the Union Territories. Each High Court shall consist of a Chief Justice and such other judges as appointed by the President of India.

This article will give you the list of High Courts, for the IAS Exam.

Aspirants can refer to the following links for Civil Services Examination preparation!

List of Total Number of High Courts in India

The number of High Courts in India is 25. The list is given below:

List of High Courts in India
Year Name Territorial Jurisdiction Seat & Bench
1862 Bombay Maharashtra

Dadra & Nagar Haveli and Daman Diu


Seat: Mumbai

Bench: Panaji, Aurangabad, and Nagpur

1862 Kolkata West Bengal

Andaman & Nicobar islands

Seat: Kolkata

Bench: Port Blair

1862 Madras Tamil Nadu


Seat: Chennai

Bench: Madurai

1866 Allahabad Uttar Pradesh Seat: Allahabad

Bench: Lucknow

1884 Karnataka Karnataka Seat: Bengaluru

Bench: Dharwad and Gulbarga

1916 Patna Bihar Patna
1948 Guwahati Assam



Arunachal Pradesh

Seat: Guwahati

Bench: Kohima, Aizawl, and Itanagar

1949 Odisha Odisha Cuttack
1949 Rajasthan Rajasthan Seat: Jodhpur

Bench: Jaipur

1956 Madhya Pradesh Madhya Pradesh Seat: Jabalpur

Bench: Gwalior and Indore

1958 Kerala Kerala & Lakshadweep Ernakulam
1960 Gujarat Gujarat Ahmedabad
1966 Delhi Delhi Delhi
1971 Himachal Pradesh Himachal Pradesh Shimla
1975 Punjab & Haryana Punjab, Haryana & Chandigarh Chandigarh
1975 Sikkim Sikkim Gangtok
2000 Chattisgarh Chattisgarh Bilaspur
2000 Uttarakhand Uttarakhand Nainital
2000 Jharkhand Jharkhand Ranchi
2013 Tripura Tripura Agartala
2013 Manipur Manipur Imphal
2013 Meghalaya Meghalaya Shillong
2019 Telangana Telangana Hyderabad
2019 Andhra Pradesh Andhra Pradesh Amravati
2019 Jammu & Kashmir and Ladakh

(Note: In 1928, Jammu & Kashmir high court was established. Post-bi-furcation of J&K into two union territories; there is now a common high court.)

Jammu and Kashmir


High Courts in India

Composition of the High Court

  • Every High Court comprises of a Chief Justice and other judges appointed by President.
  • There is no fixed minimum number of judges for the High Courts. It varies from Court to Court and from State to State.

Qualifications and Tenure

A person shall not be fit for appointment as a Judge of the High Court unless

  • He is a citizen of India
  • He should have held a judicial office in the territory of India for ten years
  • He has been for at least 10 years an advocate of one or two or more High Court

For detailed information on similar relevant topics given in the UPSC Syllabus, refer to the linked article.

List of High Courts in India:- Download PDF Here

List of Current Affairs Articles for UPSC

Important Terms related to High Courts in India:

Tribunal – A tribunal is a term for anybody acting judicially, whether or not it is called a tribunal in its title. For example, an advocate appearing before a Court on which a single Judge was sitting could describe that judge as ‘their tribunal’.

Permanent Bench – A permanent bench comprises of one or more High Court judges who sit yearlong at a particular location that is different from the permanent seat of the High Court.

Circuit Bench – A Circuit Bench is for territories which are far-flung but do not have too many matters to justify a full-fledged permanent bench. As a result, once or twice a year, some judges travel to these areas and dispose off all the High Court appeals of that jurisdiction.

Division Bench – In a Division Bench, a case is heard and judged by at least 2 judges.

Full Bench – A Full bench refers to a court of law consisting of a greater-than-normal number of judges.

Did you know?

Calcutta High Court which was set up on 1st July 1862. It is one of the three Chartered High Courts in India along with High Court of Bombay and Madras.


We have already come up with Powers and Functions of the High Court. In this article, we mentioned the total number of high courts in India along with the list of high courts and with their establishment year and jurisdiction areas. This will enhance your UPSC Prelims exam preparation.

For upcoming UPSC 2023, check other important polity articles related to the constitution:

Overview of the Constitution Sources of Indian Constitution
Indian Judiciary Types of Writs in India
Related Links:
Polity MCQs UPSC Books
How to choose best Optional subject for UPSC Polity Notes for UPSC
Press Information Bureau (PIB) Summary UPSC Prelims
UPSC Monthly Current Affairs Magazine IAS toppers
UPSC Prelims UPSC Calendar 2023
Time Table for UPSC Preparation Top 5 Magazines for UPSC
IAS Toppers Marks Subject Wise Documents Required for UPSC Exam
Daily News


Leave a Comment

Your Mobile number and Email id will not be published.