National Disaster Management Plan (NDMP)

The National Disaster Management Plan (NDMP) was first released in 2016. The primary aim of the plan is to make India disaster resilient and drastically lessen the damage caused during and in the aftermath of disasters, natural and man-made. The plan was updated in 2018.

In this article, you can get a short note on the National Disaster Management Plan (NDMP) for the disaster management segment of the UPSC syllabus.

NDMP Vision

“Make India disaster resilient, achieve substantial disaster risk reduction, and significantly decrease the losses of life, livelihoods, and assets – economic, physical, social, cultural and environmental – by maximizing the ability to cope with disasters at all levels of administration as well as among communities.”

The NDMP serves as a document or guideline for the government agencies to act in all phases of disasters. It is based on the Sendai Framework, which is a United Nations framework, for substantially reducing disaster risk, and losses to lives and livelihoods. The NDMP is also as per the Disaster Management Act, 2005 and the National Policy on Disaster Management, 2009.

NDMP Objectives

The objectives of the NDMP are listed below:

  1. To improve understanding of disaster risk, vulnerabilities and hazards.
  2. To strengthen the governance of disaster risk at every level, i.e., from national to local.
  3. To invest in the reduction of disaster risk for resilience by means of structural, non-structural and financial measures, and also by a comprehensive capacity development.
  4. To improve disaster preparedness for effective response.
  5. To encourage ‘Build Back Better’ in recovery, reconstruction and rehabilitation.
  6. To prevent disasters and ensure a significant decrease in the disaster risk and loss of life, livelihood, health and assets including physical, economic, cultural, social and environmental assets.
  7. Enhance resilience and check new disasters from emerging and reduce existing ones.
  8. To promote the execution of inclusive and integrated structural, economic, social, legal, health, cultural, environmental, educational, political, technological and institutional measures to reduce and prevent hazard exposure and vulnerabilities to disasters.
  9. To empower communities as well as local authorities to manage and decrease disaster risks.
  10. To bolster technical and scientific capabilities in all areas of disaster management.
  11. To develop capacity at every level to effectively respond to multiple hazards and for a community-based management of disaster.
  12. To offer clarity on responsibilities and roles of the various departments and ministries involved.
  13. To foster a culture of disaster risk mitigation and prevention at all levels.
  14. To enable the mainstreaming of disaster management concerns in to planning.

Salient Features of NDMP

NDMP covers all the following phases of disaster management:

  • Prevention
  • Mitigation
  • Response
  • Recovery

As per the Sendai Framework, the five thematic areas of action are as follows:

  1. Understanding Risk
  2. Inter-Agency Coordination
  3. Investing in DRR – Structural Measures
  4. Investing in DRR – Non-Structural Measures
  5. Capacity Development

Response Plan

The Plan has listed 18 broad activities to serve as a ready reckoner guide. They are:

  1. Early Warning, Maps, Satellite inputs, Information Dissemination
  2. Evacuation of People and Animals
  3. Search and Rescue of People and Animals
  4. Medical Care
  5. Drinking Water/ Dewatering Pumps/ Sanitation Facilities/ Public Health
  6. Food & Essential Supplies
  7. Communication
  8. Housing and Temporary Shelters
  9. Power
  10. Fuel
  11. Transportation
  12. Relief Logistics and Supply Chain Management
  13. Disposal of Animal Carcasses
  14. Fodder for livestock in scarcity-hit areas
  15. Rehabilitation and Ensuring Safety of Livestock and other Animals, Veterinary Care
  16. Data Collection and Management
  17. Relief Employment
  18. Media Relations

Strengthening Disaster Risk Governance

As per the NDMP, there are six thematic areas for action in which the central and the state governments should function. They are listed below:

  1. Mainstream and integrate DRR and Institutional Strengthening
  2. Capacity Development
  3. Promote Participatory Approaches
  4. Work with Elected Representatives
  5. Grievance Redress Mechanism
  6. Promote Quality Standards, Certifications, and Awards for Disaster Risk Management

For more on preparing for the disaster management section for the IAS exam, click on the link below:

How to Prepare for Internal Security and Disaster Management for IAS Mains

Related Links:

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *