List of SSC Chairman - Staff Selection Commission

SSC Chairman – Do you know who is the newly appointed chairman of Staff Selection Commission?

As per the official website of the commission, Sujata Chaturvedi, the Additional Secretary, Department of Personnel and Training is handing the additional charges of the Staff Selection Commission as its Chairman.

The Department of Personnel & Training-DoPT relieved B R Sharma, SSC Chairman, from the post of Chairman on May 24th 2020. Hence, SSC is yet to appoint the new Chairman of Staff Selection Commission. 

The article will abreast you with the list of personnel who served as SSC Chairman with their tenure of office. Candidates can also download the List of SSC Chairman PDF provided at the top and bottom of the article.

List of SSC Chairman PDF:-Download PDF Here

The information regarding SSC Chairman is relevant for candidates appearing for SSC exams and forms an important part of GK current affairs in other competitive exams as well. The SSC Chairman has been in news recently for the appointment of B R Sharma, former SSC Chairman as the head of Jammu & Kashmir Public Service Commission on May 24th, 2020. 

Candidates can also check the list of UPSC Chairman in the link provided. 

Candidates preparing for SSC exams can check other relevant topics for the general awareness section. 

Government Exams 2021

SSC Chairman List (1976-2021)

The first SSC Chairman was Saiyid Hamid appointed in 1976. He served the office of Staff Selection Commission as Chairman for four years and completed his tenure in 1980. 

Candidates can go through the list of SSC Chairman enlisted below with the names and tenure of office of various SSC Chairman.

List of SSC Chairman
Sl. No Names of SSC Chairman Appointed In Served Till
1. Shri Saiyid Hamid July 1st 1976 June 16 1980
2. Smt. Inderjit Kaur July 10 1980 July 10 1985
3. Shri S.C. Mittal July 23 1985 July 23 1990
4. Shri S.N. Bajpe July 23 1990 July 12.1994
5. Shri B. Sankaran November 28 1994 November 9 1998
6. Shri K.M. Lal November 1 1999 June 21 2002
7. Shri B.K. Misra June 24 2002 October 19 2004
8. Shri Prakash Chander December 20 2004 November 23 2005
9. Shri I.M.G. Khan November 28 2005 January 12 2006
10 Shri Brahm Dutt January 13 2006 October 30 2006
11. Dr. (Smt.) C T Misra October 30 2006 October 27 2008
12. Smt. Vibha Puri Das October 29 2008 April 23 2009
13. Shri N.K. Raghupathy April 24 2009 March 2 2013
14. Shri A. Bhattacharyya March 20 2013 December 2 2015
15. Shri Ashim Khurana December 9 2015 October 24 2019
16. Braj Raj Sharma October 24 2019 May 24 2020

List Of SSC Chairman PDF:-Download PDF Here

Candidates preparing for government exams or competitive exams can check the following links for assistance in preparation:

free online quiz for IBPS, SSC and other government exams

Staff Selection Commission – Important Facts

  • Staff Selection Commission is an organisation under the Government of India. 
  • SSC recruits staff for various posts in Ministries and Departments of the Government of India and in Subordinate Offices.
  • SSC has its headquarters located at New Delhi.
  • The commission has seven Regional offices at Mumbai, Prayagraj, Kolkata, Chennai, Guwahati, Bangalore and New Delhi. 
  • It also has two Sub- Regional offices at Chandigarh and Raipur.
  • SSC currently functions as a subordinate office of DOPT – Department of Personnel & Training and is mainly associated in conducting competitive exams for SSC Recruitment to various posts in the departments and organizations of Government of India

SSC conducts various exams and the names are given below:

  1. SSC CGL – SSC Combined Graduate Level Examination 
  2. SSC CHSL – SSC Combined Higher Secondary Level Exam 
  3. SSC JE – SSC Junior Engineer
  4. SSC GD – SSC General Duty Constable
  5. SSC CPO – SSC SI (Central Police Organization)
  6. SSC Stenographer C & D
  7. SSC MTS – SSC Multitasking Staff
  8. SSC Junior Hindi Translator
  9. SSC Selection Post

Candidates preparing for the upcoming SSC exams must check Previous Year Question Papers with solution PDF to understand the type of questions asked in the general awareness section of SSC examinations.

Also, check the following links for assistance in preparation-

  1. 100 difference Between Article for Revision
  2. English For Competitive Exams
  3. Quantitative Aptitude – Topics
  4. Logical Reasoning – Topics
  5. Verbal Ability – Topics

Candidates willing to prepare for any SSC examination can check the given links for assistance:

Further details regarding various examinations held by the Staff Selection Commission can be checked on the links given below:

Frequently Asked Question – SSC Chairman 2021

Q.1. Who was the first Chairman of SSC?

Ans. The first SSC Chairman who served was Saiyid Hamid appointed in 1976. He served the office of SSC Chairman till June 16 1980.

Q.2. Who is the current SSC Chairman?

Ans. Sujata Chaturvedi is the current SSC Chairman. She is the Additional Secretary, Department of Personnel and Training handing the additional charges of the Staff Selection Commission as its Chairman.

Q.3. Who is Braj Raj Sharma?

Ans. Braj Raj Sharma was the last SSC chairman who was relieved from the chairman’s post on 24th May 2020.

Q.4. What was Staff Selection Commission earlier known as?

Ans. Staff Selection Commission was earlier known as Subordinate Selection Commission.

Q 5. Where is Staff Selection Commission headquartered?

Ans. Staff Selection Commission has its headquarters located in New Delhi.

Leave a Comment

Your Mobile number and Email id will not be published. Required fields are marked *