What is “Adopt a Heritage Scheme”?

Adopt a Heritage scheme is a key initiative of the Ministry of Tourism in collaboration with the Ministry of Culture and Archaeological Survey of India (ASI), launched in 2017.  It is a project to develop the heritage sites or monuments and make them tourist friendly to enhance the potential of tourism and their cultural importance in a planned and phased manner. The project aims at providing basic amenities like clean environment, public conveniences, safe drinking water, ease of access, signages, illumination, pathways, vehicle parking, cloak rooms, facilities for the physically challenged etc. The funds for this development will not be provided by the Ministry of Tourism but by Private companies, public enterprises or individuals. These entities would provide the necessary funds to adopt natural heritage sites, monuments etc. 

Aspirants would find this topic very helpful in the IAS Exam.

How Many Monuments Have Been Adopted Under the Adopt a Heritage Project?

 ASI has identified 100 monuments for upgradation of facilities under the name “Adarsh Smarak.” As of 2018, 10 monuments have been adopted under the Adopt a Heritage Scheme launched by the Ministry of Tourism in collaboration with ASI and Ministry of Culture. The list of sites adopted are given below.

  1. Red Fort, Delhi
  2. Gandikota Fort, Andhra Pradesh 
  3. Area surrounding Gangotri temple 
  4. Trail to Gaumukh in Uttarakhand 
  5. Mount Stok Kangri Trek, Ladakh
  6. Jantar Mantar, Delhi 
  7. Surajkund in Haryana
  8. Qutub Minar, Delhi
  9. Ajanta Caves, Maharashtra
  10. Leh Palace, Leh
  11. Hazara Rama Temple, Leh, Karnataka

What is a HRIDAY Scheme?

HRIDAY stands for National Heritage City Development and Augmentation Yojana. It was launched in 2015 to preserve the heritage character of a heritage city. It focuses on heritage planning, economic growth, and heritage conservation. The budget of the scheme is Rs 500 crores.

Which are the Cities Identified under HRIDAY Scheme?

There are 13 cities which have been identified under the HRIDAY scheme. 

  1. Ajmer, Rajasthan
  2. Amaravati, Andhra Pradesh
  3. Amritsar, Punjab
  4. Badami, Karnataka
  5. Dwaraka, Gujarat
  6. Gaya, Uttar Pradesh
  7. Kanchipuram, Tamil Nadu
  8. Mathura, Uttar Pradesh
  9. Puri, Orissa
  10. Varanasi, Uttar Pradesh
  11. Velankanni, Pondicherry
  12. Vellore, Tamil Nadu
  13. Warangal, Telangana


The above details would help candidates prepare for UPSC 2020.

Related Links


Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *