Explain panchayat raj with levels

Panchayati Raj System is a process through which people participate in their own government. Three-tier Panchayati Raj system: Gram Panchayat, Panchayat Samiti and Zila Parishad.

  • Gram Panchayat

In rural areas, the Gram Panchayat- first tier or level of democratic government. The Panchs and the Gram Panchayat-answerable to the Gram Sabha-it is the members of the Gram Sabha who elected them. The idea of people’s participation in the Panchayati Raj system extends to two other levels. One is the Block level, called the Janpad Panchayat or the Panchayat Samiti with many Gram Panchayats under it.

  • Panchayat Samiti

Above the Panchayat Samiti is the District Panchayat or the Zila Parishad that actually makes developmental plans at the district level. With the help of Panchayat Samitis regulates the money distribution among all the Gram Panchayats. Each state in the country has its own laws with regard to Panchayats. The idea is to provide more and more space for people to participate and raise their voices.

  • Zila Parishad

In rural areas, the Zila Parishad is the highest unit of local self-government. It is formed by four types of members:

i) the elected members of the Vidhan Sabha and the Lok Sabha of the area

ii) Rajya Sabha members registered as the voters of the area

iii) the elected members from the constituency of the area

iv) Panchayat Samiti’s Pradhans of the area

Was this answer helpful?


5 (2)

Upvote (2)

Choose An Option That Best Describes Your Problem

Thank you. Your Feedback will Help us Serve you better.

Leave a Comment

Your Mobile number and Email id will not be published. Required fields are marked *




Free Class