Explain solar system in detail


We all have heard about the solar system. We know that the solar system forms a vital part of the universe.

Solar System

The solar system in simple words can be described as the sun and all the objects around it. The solar system is very huge and consists of many objects held together by the gravitational force. The sun is the centre and the biggest object in the solar system.

What does the solar system consist of?

It also consists of eight planets, satellites, asteroids, comets, and dwarf planets. Let us know more about it in depth.

Our Solar System and the planets in it


Planets are spherical objects that revolve around the sun in an elliptical orbit. The well-known planets are Mercury, Venus, Earth, Mars, Jupiter, Saturn, Uranus,  Neptune.


The objects that revolve around planets are called satellites. For example, the moon revolves around the earth and is called a natural satellite of the earth.

Artificial satellite

Some satellites are made by man and sent to space to get information about the planets and these are called artificial satellites. Aryabhatta is the first artificial satellite sent by India.


The big chunks of rock or metal are mostly found orbiting the Sun between Mars and Jupiter. Asteroids in simpler words are heavy bodies of rocks.


The small irregularly shaped objects made up of ice are referred to as comets. Haley’s comet is an example of a comet that occurs once in 76 years.

Dwarf planets

The spherical objects smaller than planets and larger than asteroids are called dwarf planets. Example: Pluto

Articles to Explore:

  1. How many planets does the Solar System consist of?
  2. Which planet is known as the dwarf planet?

Was this answer helpful?


5 (3)


Choose An Option That Best Describes Your Problem

Thank you. Your Feedback will Help us Serve you better.

Leave a Comment

Your Mobile number and Email id will not be published.





App Now