Which type of white blood cells have S-shaped nucleus?

White blood cells or Leucocytes are the colourless blood cells. They are colourless because these cells lack haemoglobin in them. WBCs mainly contribute to immunity and defence mechanism.

Types of WBC

These white blood cells are further categorised as

  • Granulocytes
  • Agranulocytes.

S-shaped nucleus

Basophils have S-shaped nucleus. Basophils is also one of the types of white blood cells.

Characteristics of Basophils

Following are the characteristics of Basophils

  • They are the least common of the granulocytes, ranging from 0.5 to 1 per cent of WBCs.
  • They contain large cytoplasmic granules, which plays a vital role in mounting a non-specific immune response to pathogens, allergic reactions by releasing histamine and dilates the blood vessels.
  • These white blood cells have the ability to be stained when exposed to basic dyes, hence referred to as basophil.
  • These cells are best known for their role in asthma and their result in the inflammation and bronchoconstriction in the airways.
  • They secrete serotonin, histamine and heparin.

Was this answer helpful?


4.5 (3)


Choose An Option That Best Describes Your Problem

Thank you. Your Feedback will Help us Serve you better.

Leave a Comment

Your Mobile number and Email id will not be published.




App Now