What Are the Different Organs of the Respiratory System?

Respiratory system is an organ system responsible for the exchange of gases in animals. It is the system that uses oxygen and expels carbon dioxide. All animals have specific organs for respiration. Plants, on the other hand, do not have specific organs for respiration. The exchange of gases takes place through stomata.

The different organs of the respiratory system include:

  • Nasal cavity
  • Pharynx
  • Larynx
  • Trachea
  • Bronchi
  • Lungs
  • Alveoli

The respiratory system does two very important things: it brings oxygen into our bodies, which we need for our cells to live and function properly; and it helps us get rid of carbon dioxide, which is a waste product of cellular function. The functions of the respiratory system include gas exchange, acid-base balance, phonation, pulmonary defence and metabolism, and the handling of bioactive materials.

Was this answer helpful?


4.5 (7)


Choose An Option That Best Describes Your Problem

Thank you. Your Feedback will Help us Serve you better.

Leave a Comment

Your Mobile number and Email id will not be published.




App Now