Our Community and Public Administration

India has a democratic system, the Government.

In a democracy, the Government is run based on the majority. As such, the entire structure of the country rests on the franchise of the people.

There are 29 states and 7 Union Territories in India. The Central Government is above all the states and Union Territories. Any state in India does not have the right to frame a separate constitution. Therefore, our citizenship is single.

What is Democracy?

Democracy refers to a Government of the people, by the people, and for the people. We have made many rules and laws to run the Government, which is referred to as the Constitution. The Constitution became applicable on 26th January 1950.

We are citizens of India and not of any particular state. Every Indian has the same citizen rights, irrespective of the state we are living in.

The Legislature

  • It refers to the Parliament, which makes laws for the country
  • Our Parliament has two Houses – Lok Sabha and Rajya Sabha.
  • Laws passed by both Houses of Parliament are implemented after the permission of the President.

The Executive

  • The executive runs the entire administration of the country.
  • The Prime Minister is the Chief of The executive.
  • The President, Vice President, Prime Minister, Cabinet and Government employees form the executive.

The Judiciary

  • The Judiciary interprets the laws and protects the fundamental rights of the citizens.
  • The Judiciary is responsible for protecting and preserving the Constitution and the laws of our country.
  • The Supreme Court is the country’s highest court, which has a Chief Justice and Judges appointed by the President.
  • Any ruling of the Supreme Court has to be followed by all the courts.

Rural and Urban Public Administration

The Parliament of India is the supreme legislative body of the Republic of India.

Similar to the Parliament in the centre, there are legislatures in each state and three levels of the Panchayat system. The three levels of the Panchayat system are:

  • Village level Panchayat
  • Block-level Panchayat
  • District level Panchayat

Just like in villages, there is also a development system in towns and cities. In small towns and cities, there are City councils. In bigger cities, there are Municipal councils.

The Village Panchayat is constituted by three parts:

  • Gram Sabha
  • Village Panchayat Committee
  • Village Panchayat

Stay tuned to BYJU’S for more information on NIOS, syllabus, notes, along with its important questions and solutions.


Leave a Comment

Your Mobile number and Email id will not be published.