How many members are there in CITES?

About 183 countries around the world are party to CITES (Convention on International Trade in Endangered Species)

North Korea and South Sudan are the countries which are not part of CITES. As such no regulations apply with regards to trade in endangered species.

CITES is a multilateral treaty to protect endangered plants and animals. It was drafted as a result of a resolution adopted in 1963 at a meeting of members of the International Union for Conservation of Nature (IUCN).

For more relevant articles refer to the links given below:

Leave a Comment

Your Mobile number and Email id will not be published. Required fields are marked *