What are the different types of party systems?

There are mainly three types of party systems. They are:

  • One-party system: Only one party is allowed to control and run the government. For example, in China, only the Communist Party is allowed to rule.
  • Two-party system: Only the two main parties have a serious chance of winning a majority of seats to form a government. The United States of America and the United Kingdom are examples of a two-party system.
  • Multi-party system: More than two parties have a reasonable chance of coming to power either on their own strength or in alliance with others. Thus in India, we have a multiparty system.

Further Reading:

Leave a Comment

Your Mobile number and Email id will not be published. Required fields are marked *