What are the four major ecosystem processes?

The four major ecosystem processes are-

  1. Water cycle,
  2. Mineral cycle,
  3. Solar energy flow, and
  4. Community dynamics (succession)

All four processes work together to create a healthy or unhealthy ecosystem. These processes are sometimes called the four ecosystem foundation blocks because they are so fundamental to ecosystem function.

Further Readings – 

  1. Hydrological Cycle
  2. Biogeochemical Cycle
Related Links
Oxygen Cycle Carbon Cycle 
Nitrogen Cycle List of International Environmental Conventions
Australia’s Great Barrier Reef  UPSC MCQ on Environment For IAS Prelims

Leave a Comment

Your Mobile number and Email id will not be published. Required fields are marked *