What were the three divisions approved by Sir Charles Aitchison?

The three divisions approved by Sir Charles Aitchison were imperial, provincial and subordinate civil services.

The Aitchison Commission was set up in 1886 under the chairmanship of Sir Charles Umpherston Aitchison to come up with a scheme for fulfilling the claims of Indians to higher and more extensive employment in public service.

Other recommendations of the Aitchison commission were to limit the maximum age of entry into civil services till age 23 and scrapping simultaneous examinations in England and India.

For further reading check the following articles:


Leave a Comment

Your Mobile number and Email id will not be published.