How many types of Lok Adalat are there?

The bodies that may organise Lok Adalats at such intervals and places to exercise their jurisdiction are as follows:

  1. National Legal Service Authority
  2. Supreme Court Legal Services Committee
  3. State Legal Services Authority
  4. High Court Legal Service Committee
  5. District Legal Services Authority
  6. Taluk Legal Services Committee.

Thus, the person who needs free legal aid can approach the Legal Services Authority at any level- national, state, district or taluk. 

Other types of Lok Adalats

  • Permanent Lok Adalats
  • Mobile Lok Adalats

Further Reading:

To read more about Alternative Dispute Resolution, check the linked article. 

Related Links

UPSC Syllabus

Indian Polity Notes

UPSC Exam Pattern

Supreme Court of India

What are the functions of the District Legal Service Authority?

High Courts of India

Leave a Comment

Your Mobile number and Email id will not be published. Required fields are marked *