What are the 7 categories of the IUCN Red List?

The IUCN Red List Categories and Criteria have several specific aims:

  • To provide a system that can be applied consistently by different people
  • To improve objectivity by providing users with clear guidance on how to evaluate different factors which affect the risk of extinction
  • To provide a system that will facilitate comparisons across widely different taxa
  • To give people using threatened species lists a better understanding of how individual species were classified

The 7 categories of IUCN Red List are as follows:

  1. Extinct
  2. Extinct in the Wild
  3. Critically Endangered
  4. Endangered
  5. Vulnerable
  6. Near Threatened
  7. Least Concerned

Further Reading:

Related Links
United Nations Environment Programme (UNEP) Previous Years’ Environment and Ecology Questions from IAS Mains GS 3
List of Important Environment Conventions and Protocols Species in News
Places in News Convention on International Trade in Endangered Species of Wild Flora & Fauna

Leave a Comment

Your Mobile number and Email id will not be published. Required fields are marked *