What are the river basins in India?

There are 12 major river basins with a catchment area of 20000 km2 and above. They are

  • Brahmaputra River Basin
  • Cauvery River Basin
  • Godavari River Basin
  • Indus River Basin
  • Krishna River Basin
  • Mahanadi River Basin
  • Mandovizuari River Basin
  • Narmada River Basin
  • Pamba River Basin
  • Tapi River Basin
  • Narmada River Basin
  • Mahi

The major river basin is the Ganga-Brahmaputra-Meghna, which is the largest with a catchment area of about 11.0 lakh km2 (more than 43% of the catchment area of all the major rivers in the country).

Further Reading:

Related Links

What is an example of a river basin?

What is a river basin?

West Flowing Rivers of Peninsular India

Geography Questions in UPSC Prelims


Geography Questions and Answers for UPSC

Leave a Comment

Your Mobile number and Email id will not be published. Required fields are marked *