What does Article 19 say?

Article 19 of the Indian constitution guarantees to all citizens the six rights. These six rights include:

  • Right to freedom of speech and expression;
  • Right to assemble peaceably and without arms;
  • Right to form associations or unions;
  • Right to move freely throughout the territory of India;
  • Right to reside and settle in any part of the territory of India; and
  • Right to practise any profession, or to carry on any occupation, trade or business. 

Originally, Article 19 contained seven rights. But, the right to acquire, hold and dispose of the property was deleted by the 44th Amendment Act of 1978. 

Further Reading:

To read more about the 44th Amendment of the Indian Constitution, check the linked article. 

Leave a Comment

Your Mobile number and Email id will not be published. Required fields are marked *