What is the other name of Himadri and Shivalik?

Himadri’ is also referred to as the Great Himalayas or the Higher Himalayas in the northernmost part of the Himalaya range acting as the backbone and the longest belt. The range has a height of 20,000 feet covering the northern portion of India and the entire Nepal.

‘Shiwalik’ is also known as the Outer Himalayas extending from west to northwest in the state of Sikkim through Nepal and into northern Pakistan with a height of 3000 to 4000 feet. The name ‘Shiwalik’ means ‘belonging to God Shiva’.

Further Readings-

  1. Longitudinal Division of Himalayas
  2. Highest Peaks in States of India
  3. Important Mountain Passes in India

Leave a Comment

Your Mobile number and Email id will not be published. Required fields are marked *