Who founded the Self-Respect Movement?

The self-respect movement was founded by E.V. Ramaswamy Naicker, commonly known as Periyar. It was a dynamic social movement aimed at destroying the contemporary Hindu social order in its totality and creating a new, rational society without caste, religion and god.

A number of present-day political parties in Tamil Nadu, such as Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam (DMK) and All India Anna Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam (AIADMK) owe their origins to the Self-respect movement.

Leave a Comment

Your Mobile number and Email id will not be published. Required fields are marked *