Duration of Rajya Sabha

  • It is a permanent body and not subject to dissolution.
  • One-third of members of the Rajya Sabha retire every second year. 
  • Their seats are filled up by fresh elections and presidential nominations at the beginning of every third year.
  • The retiring members are eligible for re-election and renomination any number of times.
  • The Constitution has not fixed the term of office of members of the Rajya Sabha and left it to the Parliament.
  • Accordingly, the Parliament in the Representation of People Act (1951) provided that the term of office of the members of the Rajya Sabha shall be six years

Duration of Lok Sabha

  • The Lok Sabha is not a continuing chamber. 
  • Its normal term is five years from the date of its first meeting.  

Further Reading:

To read more about the Functions of the Parliament, check the linked article. 

Leave a Comment

Your Mobile number and Email id will not be published. Required fields are marked *