What are the 5 major pollutants regulated by the Clean Air Act?

The Central Government launched National Clean Air Programme (NCAP) as a long-term, time-bound, national-level strategy to tackle the air pollution problem which monitors 4 major pollutants, are – 

  1. Sulphur Oxides (SO2)
  2. Nitrogen Oxides (NO2)
  3. Suspended Particulate Matter (PM10)
  4. Fine Particulate Matter (PM25)

Further Readings – 

  1. Air Pollutants
  2. National Clean Air Programme – NCAP
  3. Pollution measurement – Air Quality Index (AQI)
Related Links
Vienna Convention for Ozone Protection Greenhouse gases – GHGs
CPCB – Central Pollution Control Board Smog – Definition, Types and How to Control
Kyoto Protocol SAFAR – System of Air Quality and Weather Forecasting And Research

Leave a Comment

Your Mobile number and Email id will not be published. Required fields are marked *