Who banned the press in India?

Lord Lytton, Viceroy of India at the time. is credited with banning the press in India by introducing the Vernacular Press Act of 1878.

The act was intended to prevent the vernacular press from expressing criticism of British policies—notably, the opposition that had grown with the outset of the Second Anglo-Afghan War (1878–80). The act excluded English-language publications though.

The law was repealed in 1881 by Lytton’s successor as viceroy, Lord Ripon but the resentment caused by the introduction of the Vernacular Press Act would be a catalyst for the rise of Indian nationalism.

For more relevant articles refer to the links given below:

Related Links

Who formed the Justice Party in 1916?

Who started the Dravidian movement?

NCERT Medieval Indian History Notes UPSC

UPSC Questions 

NCERT Ancient Indian History Notes UPSC

NCERT Modern Indian History Notes UPSC


Leave a Comment

Your Mobile number and Email id will not be published. Required fields are marked *