SAARC Full Form

What is the Full form of SAARC?

The full form SAARC is the South Asian Association for Regional Cooperation. It is a geopolitical and economic body of eight countries located in South Asia.

Those countries are as follows

  1. India
  2. Bangladesh
  3. Bhutan
  4. Sri Lanka
  5. Afghanistan
  6. Nepal
  7. Maldives
  8. Pakistan

In terms of GDP ( PPP), it is the world’s third-largest economy, after China & USA.

It is the world’s 8th-largest economy in terms of nominal GDP.

SAARC Structure

  • The seven South Asian countries, including Pakistan, India, Bangladesh, Nepal, Sri Lanka, Bhutan the Maldives, and Afghanistan, settled in the late 1970s and agreed to create a trade bloc to provide a forum for the citizens of South Asia to function in the spirit of friendship, confidence and understanding at the same time.
  • On May 2, 1980, Zia Ur Rahaman initially lifted this initiative to create a trade bloc.
  • The first summit was held in Dhaka on December 8, 1985.

SAARC’s Cooperation Areas

The five primary cooperation areas assigned by SAARC are as follows:

  • Human Resources Development
  • Rural and agriculture development
  • Transport
  • Science, Technology, and Telecommunication
  • Population and health-related activities

Apex and Respected companies

SAARC has six Apex entities that are listed below

  • SAARCLAW (South Asian Association for Regional Cooperation in Law)
  • SCCI (SAARC Chamber of Commerce & Industry)
  • SAFA (South Asian Federation of Accountants)
  • SAF (South Asia Foundation)
  • FOSWAL (Foundation of SAARC Writers and Literature)
  • SAIEVAC (South Asia Initiative to End Violence Against Children)

Leave a Comment

Your Mobile number and Email id will not be published. Required fields are marked *




Free Class