Scientific Name of Parrot

Psittaciformes (Order)

Parrots belong to the order Psittaciformes, which has 3 superfamilies, 92 genera and close to 393 species. Most parrots have a diet of nuts, seeds, fruits, and floral nectar. Some species are also omnivoros – including a diet of carrion. Most notably, the kea (Nestor notabilis) is an omnivoros parrot – living on a diet of roots, berries, leaves, insects as well as carrion. It is also the only Alpine parrot, breeding at heights of over 5,000 feet above sea level. The order Psittaciformes is classified into three superfamilies, namely:

  • Cacatuoidea (Cockatoos)
    • ~21 parrot species
  • Psittacoidea (True parrots)
    • ~350 parrot species
  • Strigopoidea (New Zealand parrots)
    • ~9 parrot species

The general characteristic of a parrot includes a curved, strong beak with a large upper mandible that tapers to a point. It also has an upright stance with clawed feet. Most members of this order are small-to-medium sized birds. Some members, such as the hyacinth macaw (Anodorhynchus hyacinthinus) can reach a total length of more than 3 feet, making it the largest macaw and the largest flying parrot species. At the other end of the spectrum is the buff-faced pygmy parrot (Micropsitta pusio), reaching a total length of 3.1 inches in length. Unfortunately, close to ⅓ of all parrot species are threatened with the risk of extinction. This is primarily due to loss of habitat as well as illegal pet-trade.

Also Read:

Explore other interesting topics on parrot or other fascinating animals by registering with BYJU’S Biology

Frequently Asked Questions on Scientific Name of Parrot


What is the scientific name of parrot

Parrots belong to the order Psittaciformes.


Leave a Comment

Your Mobile number and Email id will not be published.