IGKO Class 5 Syllabus

The IGKO (International General Knowledge Olympiad) is hosted by the Science Olympiad Foundation (SOF). The IGKO Olympiad is a competition for kids in grades 1 to 10, and its purpose is to stimulate students’ interest in current events and general knowledge. The IGKO Olympiad Syllabus is mandatory reading for students competing in the IGKO Olympiad.

The IGKO Exam Syllabus is separated into two levels: 1st to 4th grade and 5th to 10th grade. The course was divided into four sections: General Awareness, Current Affairs, Life Skills, and Achievers, and it also varies from 1st to 4th grade and from 5th to 10th grade. The IGKO Syllabus Class 5 increases a student’s understanding and interest in the subject and current events worldwide.

Class 1 to 10 IGKO Syllabus

The IGKO Syllabus is divided into four sections for each Class, from first to tenth.

1st section General Awareness Topics based on important events around the world.
2nd section Current Affairs Contains questions from recent events.
3rd section Life Skills Topics is based on abilities for managing and living a better quality of life.
4th section Achievers Section Contains questions related to higher-order thinking skills.

SOF IGKO Class 5 Syllabus

The IGKO Syllabus Class 5 is listed below.

General Awareness Science and Technology, Plants and Animals, Our Body and Health, India and the World, Environment and its Conservation, Entertainment, Sports, Language and Literature, Maths Fun.
Life Skills Moral values, Flexibility, Teamwork, Time Management, Leadership, Emotional Intelligence and Decision Making.
Current Affairs Research & Development, News, Updates of new happenings from around the world.
Achievers Section Higher-Order Thinking Questions from the above-given Syllabus.

The Marking Scheme of IGKO Class 5

Class 1 to 4 has a different marking scheme from Classes 5 to 10. The marking structure of IGKO Class 5 is tabulated below.

  • Class: 5
  • Total number of questions: 50
  • Total marks: 60
  • Time: 1-hour
Section Number of Questions Marks/Questions Total Marks
General Awareness 30 1 30
Current Affairs 10 1 10
Life Skills 5 1 5
Achievers Section 5 3 15
Grand Total 50 60

Frequently Asked Questions on IGKO Syllabus Class 5

What is IGKO?

IGKO is a competitive exam held by the Science Olympiad Foundation (SOF). Competitions like the International General Knowledge Olympiad provide students with a great deal of value and knowledge. Students are expected to know more about the globe and everything in general in today’s modern world. Hence, the IGKO covers a wide range of topics.

In IGKO, would students from all classes be asked the same questions?

No, each class’s Syllabus is different, so the question paper will be different as well. It makes no sense to ask the same question to all students, regardless of their class or other criteria. Students in grades 1 to 10 have ever-developing cognitive abilities; consequently, a Class 5 student is different from a Class 4 and a Class 6 student, and asking them the same questions would be completely unfair to everyone, especially those in lower grades.

What are the eligibility requirements to compete in the IGKO?

Students in grades 1 to 10 are eligible to participate in the IGKO. Students in Classes 11 and 12, as well as those pursuing a bachelor’s degree or a master’s degree at a university, are not eligible to participate. As a result, children in grades 1 through 10 are strongly encouraged to participate in the International General Knowledge Olympiad (IGKO).

Leave a Comment

Your Mobile number and Email id will not be published. Required fields are marked *