Diagram for Meiosis

Meiosis is a type of cell division in which a single cell undergoes division twice to produce four haploid daughter cells. The cells produced are known as the sex cells or gametes (sperms and egg).

The diagram of meiosis is beneficial for class 10 and 12 and is frequently asked in the examinations. The diagram of meiosis along with the explanation of its different stages is given below in detail.

Further Reading:

Meiosis II

Significance of Meiosis

Meiosis I

Well-Labelled Diagram for Meiosis

Diagram for Meiosis showing its different stages (Meiosis I and Meiosis II)

Meiosis I

Prophase I

Here, the chromosomes begin to condense. Prophase I is divided into five different stages:

  • Leptotene
  • Zygotene
  • Pachytene
  • Diplotene
  • Diakinesis

Metaphase I

The homologous pairs of chromosomes are aligned on the equatorial plate.

Anaphase I

The homologous chromosomes are pulled on the opposite poles. The sister chromatids remain attached to each other.

Telophase I

The nuclear membrane reforms and chromosomes decondense.

Cytokinesis I

The cell divides into two haploid daughter cells.

Meiosis II

Prophase II

Chromosomes condense and nuclear envelope breaks.

Metaphase II

The non-homologous chromosomes aligned on the equatorial plate.

Anaphase II

Sister chromatids move to opposite poles.

Telophase II

Chromosomes decondense and nuclear membrane reforms.

Cytokinesis II

The cell divides into four haploid daughter cell.

For more information on mitosis, diagram of meiosis or other related topics, keep visiting BYJU’S website.

1 Comment

  1. This is a very helpful app

Leave a Comment

Your Mobile number and Email id will not be published. Required fields are marked *




Free Class