Scientific Name of Camel

Camelus (genus)

Camels are even-toed hoofed animals that belong to the genus Camelus. There are three species of camels that survive today. These are:

  • Bactrian Camel (Camelus bactrianus)
  • Wild Bactrian Camel (Camelus ferus)
  • Arabian Camel / Dromedary Camel (Camelus dromedarius)

The Syrian Camel (Camelus moreli) is an extinct species of camels that lived 100,000 years ago in the Western Syrian desert. It was also one of the largest members of this genus, reaching heights of over 9.8 feet at the shoulders and 13 feet tall overall. For comparison, the dromedary camels reach heights of 6.6 feet at the shoulders and 11 feet overall. The Bactrian camel grows to a height of just 6 feet at the shoulders and 10 feet overall.

  • The scientific name of Rajasthan camel is Camelus dromedarius.

India has a population of less than 1 million dromedary camels and most of that population is found in the state of Rajasthan.

Also Read:

Explore more interesting topics on camels or other animals by registering with BYJU’S Biology

Frequently Asked Questions on Scientific Name of Camel


What is the scientific name of the camel?

Camels belong to the genus Camelus, with three extant species. These are:

  1. Arabian Camel / Dromedary Camel (Camelus dromedarius)
  2. Bactrian Camel (Camelus bactrianus)
  3. Wild Bactrian Camel (Camelus ferus)

What is the dromedary camel’s scientific name?

Camelus dromedarius


What is Bactrian camel’s scientific name?

Camelus bactrianus


What is the scientific name of Rajasthan camel?

Camelus dromedarius


Leave a Comment

Your Mobile number and Email id will not be published.