The axes of a two-dimensional Cartesian plane system divides the plane into four infinite regions is called quadrants. These regions includes both positive and values values of x and y. The intersection of two lines is known to be the reference point. All the measurement is done taking this point as the reference (or starting point).


Well, the graph is divided into sections or four quadrants, based on those values.

1st Quadrant: The upper right-hand corner of the graph is the first quadrant. In this quadrant the values of x and y both are positive.

2nd Quadrant: The upper left-hand corner of the graph is the second quadrant. In this quadrant the value of x is negative whereas the value of y is positive.

3rd Quadrant: The lower left-hand corner of the graph is the third quadrant. It contains the negative values of both x and y.

4th Quadrant: Finally, the fourth quarter is at the lower right-hand corner, that has positive value of x and negative values of y.

Quadrant x-coordinate y-coordinate
1st Quadrant Positive Positive
2nd Quadrant Negative Positive
3rd Quadrant Negative Negative
4th Quadrant Positive Negative

Trigonometric values in different Quadrant:

1st Quadrant 2nd Quadrant 3rd Quadrant 4th Quadrant
Sin +ve +ve -ve -ve
Cos +ve -ve -ve +ve
Tan +ve -ve +ve -ve
Cot +ve -ve +ve -ve
Sec +ve -ve -ve +ve
Cosec +ve +ve -ve -ve

Plotting Points on a Graph:

Cartesian points are written as x – y axis. To graph a point, In order to locate its position on the x-axis, find its location on the y-axis, and in the end plot where these meet. The center point of the graph is called the “origin” and is written as the point (0, 0) because it is located at the zero point on the both x and y axis.

To learn more about Quadrant, Area of Quadrant and other math-related articles, visit Byju’s.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *