List of Indian Navy Admirals From 1947 - 2020 For General Awareness

Do you know, who is the present Indian Navy Admiral Or Chief of Indian Navy? Admiral Karambir Singh, appointed on May 31st 2019 is the 24th Indian Navy Chief serving at present. 

The topic of Indian Navy Admirals is important for competitive exams. For various Government exams SSC, RRB, Bank etc. the topic is covered under general awareness sections. Also, the UPSC aspirants can expect one or two questions related to Chief of Indian Navy in UPSC prelims.

Hence, the article will provide the list of Indian Navy Admirals from 1947 to 2020 who served the office as Chief of Indian Navy Staff. The Indian Navy Admirals List is also available to download in PDF format for candidates convenience. 

List of Indian Navy Admirals PDF:-Download PDF Here

Preparing for Government exams?  Check the links for assistance in preparation:

Chief of Indian Navy – Admirals List [1947-2020]

The Chief of the Naval Staff is the commander, the highest-ranking officer in the Indian Navy and the position is abbreviated as CNS

Given below is the list of Indian navy admirals and their tenure of office as Chief of Indian Navy:

List Of Indian Navy Admirals – Chief Of Navy Staff
Names of CNS Tenure of Office
Rear Admiral J.T.S. Hall August 15 1947 to August 14 1948
Admiral Sir Edward Parry August 15 1948 toOctober 13 1951
Admiral Sir Mark Pizey   October 14 1951 to 21 July 1955
Vice Admiral Sir Stephen Carlill 22 July 1955 to April 21 1958
Vice Admiral R.D. Katari April 22 1958 to June 4 1962
Vice Admiral B.S. Soman June 05 1962 to March 3 1966
Admiral A.K. Chatterjee March  04 1966 to February 27 1970
Admiral S.M. Nanda February 28 1970 to February 28 1973
Admiral S.N. Kohli March 01 1973 to February 28 1976
Admiral J.L. Cursetji March 01 1976 to February 28 1979
Admiral R.L. Pereira March 01 1979 to February 28 1982
Admiral O.S. Dawson March 01 1982 to November 30 1984
Admiral R.H. Tahiliani December  01 1984 to November 30 1987
Admiral J.G. Nadkarni December  01 1987 to November 30 1990
Admiral Ramdas December 01 1990 to September 30 1993
Admiral V.S. Shekhawat October  01 1993 to September 30 1996
Admiral Vishnu Bhagwat October  01 1996 to December 30 1998
Admiral Sushil Kumar December 31 1998  to December 29 2001
Admiral Madhvendra Singh December 29 2001 to July 31 2004
Admiral Arun Prakash August  01 2004 to October 30 2006
Admiral Sureesh Mehta October 30 2006 to  August 31 2009
Admiral Nirmal Verma August  31 2009 to August 31 August 2012
Admiral Devender Kumar Joshi August  31 2012 to February 26 2014
Vice Admiral RK Dhowan February 26 2014 to May 31 2016
Admiral Sunil Lanba May 31 2016 to May 31 2019
Admiral Karambir Singh May 31 2019 to Incumbent

Important facts related to Indian Navy Admirals

  • At Independence, the head of the Navy was designated the Commander-in-Chief, Royal Indian Navy
  • The title of “Chief of the Naval Staff” was added on 1st March 1948, “Chief of the Naval Staff and Commander-in-Chief, Royal Indian Navy“.
  • When India became a republic on 26th January 1950, the “Royal” designation was dropped. Thus designating the Indian Navy head to “Chief of the Naval Staff and Commander-in-Chief, Indian Navy“.
  • The Commanders-In-Chief (Change in Designation) Act, 1955 re-designated the Indian Navy Head to “Chief of Naval Staff”.
  • The position CNS is headed by both three-star rank Vice Admiral and two-star rank Rear Admiral. However since 1966, the Chief of Naval Staff has always been a full Admiral.
  • Appointments of CNS to the office are made by ACC – the Appointments Committee of the Cabinet. 
  • The CNS generally reaches superannuation upon completion of 3 years service or at the age of 62, whichever is earlier.

List of Indian Navy Admirals:-Download PDF Here

Candidates preparing for competitive exams can check relevant articles for General Awareness section:

free online quiz for IBPS, SSC and other government exams

Sample Questions – Chief Of Indian Navy Admirals General Awareness

Understanding the relevance of Indian Navy Admirals for competitive exams is important for better preparation for which candidates must be well versed with the types of questions asked in the examination based on it. 

Hence, given below are sample question based on Indian Navy Admirals asked in the general awareness section of competitive exams:

Q.1. Who is the Chief of Indian Navy 2020?

  1. R D Katari
  2. Karambir Singh
  3. Sunil Lamba
  4. S N kohli

Answer (2) Karambir Singh

Q.2. Which of the following is the Vice-Admiral of the Indian Navy?

  1. R J Dhowan
  2. Ramdas
  3. Suresh Mehta
  4. G Ashok Kumar

Answer (4) G Ashok Kumar

Q.3. Who was the first Navy Chief of India?

  1. S N kohli
  2. R J Dhowan
  3. R D Katari
  4. Suresh Mehta

Answer (3) R D Katari

Q.4. Who was the first Commander-In-Chief of the Royal Indian Navy?

  1. J S T Hall
  2. Mark Pizey
  3. Edward Parry
  4. Stephen Carlil

Answer (1) J S T Hall

Q.5. When was the first Navy Chief of Independent India appointed?

  1. 1950 
  2. 1955
  3. 1958
  4. 1952

Answer (3) 1958

Candidates can check Previous Year Question Papers with solution PDF to understand the type of questions asked in the general awareness section of these examinations other than the ones given above.

For more topics on General Awareness for various government exams, check

Aspirants of the government examinations can check the details and syllabus from the given links:

Bank Exams 2020

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *