Classification of Animal Kingdom

Classification of Animal Kingdom

The science of classifying organisms is called taxonomy. In this taxonomy, each individual living species are classified into five kingdoms and one among them is the Kingdom Animalia, which is composed of animals. In the Kingdom Animalia, animals are further classified into:

Non-chordates and the chordates


Non-chordates are animals without a notochord – the rod-like elastic structure that supports the body. This phylum consists of a small group of worm-like, marine species with an organ-system level of organization. Phylum Porifera to Phylum Hemichordata are called Non-chordates. The general characteristic features of Non-Chordates are:

  1. They are cylindrical, triploblastic, coelomate animals.
  2. Respiration in these animals takes place through gills.
  3. Presence of separate sexes and developed excretory organs
  4. They reproduce by external fertilization.
  5. The body includes an open type of circulatory system and front side central nervous system.

Examples of this phylum include Balanoglossus and Saccoglossus.


Chordates are animals characterized by the presence of notochord at some stage of development. This phylum is fundamentally characterized by the presence of a notochord. It has an upper side, hollow nerve cord, paired with pharyngeal gill slits. The general characteristic features of Chordates are:

  1. They are bilaterally symmetrical, triploblastic, and coelomate with the organ-system level of organization.
  2. They are often referred to as Protochordates and are exclusively marine.
  3. They hold a post-anal tail
  4. The body includes a closed circulatory system.
  5. In some species of Phylum Chordata, the notochord is present only in the larval tail, and in some, it is present throughout their life from head to tail region.

Examples of this phylum include Ascidia, Salpa, Doliolum, Amphioxus or Lancelet.

Phylum Chordata is divided into three subphyla: Urochordata, Cephalochordata, and Vertebrata.

Subphylum – Urochordata – It is also referred to as Tunicata which are marine animals, the body is surrounded by a leathery covering (tunic). Larvae are free-swimming, the notochord is present only in the tail of larvae and after settling on the seashore, they get transformed into sessile adults. They are generally hermaphrodite.

Examples include – Ascidians, Doliolum, Oikopleura, etc.

Subphylum – Cephalochordata– It mainly consists of small fish-like marine animals in which the notochord are extended along the entire body and includes pharynx which is large with numerous gill- slits. These species have separate sexes.

Example include – Amphioxus or lancelet.

Subphylum – Vertebrata – In this subphylum, the vertebral column is mainly replaced by and includes a well-developed head. The brain is protected in a cranium and the endoskeleton may be cartilaginous or bony. They may be jawless or with jaws

The subphylum Vertebrata is divided into five classes of vertebrates (animals with backbones)

Vertebrates classification

The five classes of vertebrates comprise of all the species of animals have developed vertebral column and internal skeleton. Overall there are about 66,000 species of vertebrates which represent the overwhelming majority of the phylum Chordata. These vertebrates are bilaterally symmetrical, coelomic, triploblastic, and segmented, with complex differentiation of body tissues and organs. Thus all vertebrates are chordates but all chordates are not vertebrates.

Other characteristic features of vertebrates are

  1. Presence of a true vertebral column and internal skeleton completely distributed muscle attachment points for body movement.
  2. A front side muscular heart with two, three or four chambers.
  3. Kidneys for excretion and osmoregulation
  4. A paired appendages which may be fins or limbs.
  5. Possess notochord during the embryonic stage.

Vertebrates are further grouped into five classes. They are:

  1. Pisces
  2. Amphibia
  3. Reptilia
  4. Aves
  5. Mammalia

Class Pisces (Fishes)

They are cold-blooded, aquatic animals, having a streamlined body and a pair of fins which are used for swimming. Tail fin helps in changing direction and exoskeleton is the form of scales. Endoskeleton may be cartilaginous or bony while respiration occurs through gills. They also have eyes without eyelids.

Examples of Class Pisces includes dogfish and Rohu.

Class Amphibia

They usually comprise of those organisms which are cold-blooded and are the habitat of the freshwaters or terrestrial. These organisms are mainly characterized by the two pairs of limbs, smooth and moist skin for respiration. They have protruding eyes protected by usually more than one pair of eyelids (Frogs have 3). Examples of Class Amphibia are frog, toad, and salamander.

Class Reptilia

They comprise of those organisms which are ectothermic in nature (cold-blooded). Most members have dry skin bearing scales or bony plates. They are characterized by the presence of a neck and the absence of external ear. Digits are provided with claws.

Examples of Class Reptilia are Tortoise, Wall lizard, Snake, etc.

Class Aves (Birds)

They are warm-blooded animals having streamlined body for lower air resistance during flight and their forelimbs are modified into wings. They are characterized by digits which are clawed and covered with scales, exoskeleton in the form of feathers and the presence of a neck and beak. Examples of Class Aves are Parrot, Pigeon, Duck, etc.

Class Mammalia

These organisms are distinguished by the presence of mammary glands, a body that is divided into Head-Neck-Trunk-Tail. Digits are provided with claws, nails, hooves. Most of the members in this species lack the external ear (also called as pinna). They are warm-blooded animals.

Examples of Class Mammalia are Monkey, Man, Lion, Bat, Rat, Squirrel, etc.

Stay tuned with BYJU’S to learn more about the Animal Kingdom and its classification.

Practise This Question

Identify the molecule in the following image: